Home » Docks, Docking Stations & Hubs » USB-C Docks » OWC USB-C Travel Dock E

OWC Special Offer Available

$20.00 off BUNDLE DEAL - Buy an OWC USB-C Travel Dock or USB-C Travel Dock E + NewerTech NuPower 60W Dual-Port USB Power Charger and Save up to 68%!
Must purchase with: TCPSB1C1A60

OWC

USB-C Travel Dock E
Space Gray

Mac | PC | iOS | Chrome OS | USB 3.2 5Gb/s | HDMI | Gigabit Ethernet |SD Card Reader
The best mini-sized dock to connect, charge, display, and import on-the-go via one integrated cable
The Best Just Got Better
When the gadget pros at Ars Technica called the OWC USB-C Travel Dock the “Best Hub for iPad” and the “Best Travel Hub” overall, we thought our work was done. Their – and other tech users - wish for an Ethernet port was our command to make the best even better. All the high-speed data performance, pass-through power, and versatility no other mini-sized hub can match…now with the reliability of Gigabit Ethernet connectivity. Welcome to the 6-port USB-C Travel Hub E.
Mobile Life Simplified
The OWC USB-C Travel Dock E reduces adapter and dongle heft and hassle while expanding your connectivity options with six essential ports: USB 3 Type-A, HDMI 2.0, SD card reader, Gigabit Ethernet, and USB-C power pass through. Through its integrated USB-C connecting cable, the diminutive Travel Dock E lets you transform a studio, classroom, boardroom, or coffee shop into your mobile office with the ability to connect, charge, display, and import at will with USB-C or Thunderbolt 3 equipped computers, tablets, and phones.
Fast and Reliable Sharing, Streaming, Surfing
Nothing can quash productivity faster than slow, low-quality Wi-Fi. With its Gigabit Ethernet port with industry standard RJ-45 connector, you can plug in the Travel Dock E anywhere for a speedy server connection, uninterrupted downloads and reliable file transfers.
Portable and Powerful
Unlike other mini-docks that sacrifice some usability to remain portable, OWC USB-C Travel Dock E packs a heavyweight punch akin to a desktop dock. Similar to the size and weight of a hockey puck, this compact dock can be used via bus power when you don't have access to a power outlet. Or, connect a USB-C power adapter to the Travel Dock E’s USB-C power delivery port to charge your device with up to 100W of power.
Do It All
Through the Travel Dock E’s one integrated USB-C cable, you can:
  • Make a powerful presentation on a 4K HDMI display
  • Share, stream, and surf reliably fast on an Ethernet network
  • Transfer files with storage devices in a blink of any eye
  • Charge up your small mobile devices for on-the-go use
  • Copy photos and movies directly from media cards with the SD card reader
  • Enjoy the convenience of a full-sized keyboard or mouse with your notebook
Disconnect in One Click
OWC Dock Ejector software safely disconnects drives connected to the OWC USB-C Travel Dock E in a single click. Designed by OWC hardware and software engineers, Dock Ejector ensures all data is written before disconnection, saving time and protecting against data loss. Use it to move quickly between workstations and get the most out of your OWC USB-C Travel Dock E.
Download Dock Ejector
OWC, Trusted by Pros & Enthusiasts the World Over
We build our hardware to the highest standards of reliability and performance. Because 100% reliability is always the goal, we rigorously quality test and back the OWC USB-C Travel Dock E with an OWC Limited Warranty and award-winning customer support.
1. The power delivery component of the dock is rated up to 100W. Power draw of the dock while being bus-powered ranges from 5-15W and will not deliver any power to the connected computer. When a USB-C power adapter is connected to the dock's USB-C port, the dock will draw up to 8W power from the adapter instead of bus-powering from the host computer. Depending on the adapter connected, the dock can pass up to 92W to the host computer. Any power not used by the dock and its ports is passed to the host for battery charging, if applicable.

Product Specifications

Specifications
  • Display Support
    • Up to one 4K display @ 60Hz
  • Display Support by Port
    • HDMI 2.0: Up to 4K @ 60Hz
  • Certifications
    • BSMI
    • CE
    • FCC
    • RCM
    • VCCI
  • Data Rate
    • USB 3.2 Gen 1: up to 5Gb/s
    • SD media: up to 312 MB/s
  • Ethernet Speeds (RJ-45)
    • 1Gb/s "Gigabit" (1000BASE-T)
    • 100Mb/s (100BASE-T)
    • 10Mb/s (10BASE-T)
Compatibility
  • Mac OS Compatibility
    • Yes
  • PC OS Compatibility
    • Windows 10 64-bit Edition
    • Windows Server 2016
  • Other OS Compatibility
    • Chrome OS
    • iPadOS 12.1 or later
    • Android
    • ChromeOS
  • Host Port Requirements
    • USB-C or Thunderbolt 3 or later equipped Macs, PCs, tablets, and phones
Power
  • Power Supply
    • Bus-powered (Optional AC adapter)
  • External Power Adapter
    • Optional
  • Power Delivery
    • USB-C Charging port delivers up to 92W pass-through power for host charging.
Physical
  • Device Ports
    • (2) USB 3.2 Gen 1 Type-A Ports up to 600MB/s
    • (1) USB Type-C Charge Port
    • (1) HDMI Port
    • (1) Gigabit Ethernet (GbE) RJ-45 Port
  • Memory Card Slots
    • (1) Secure Digital (SD)
  • Security Slot
    • No
  • Housing Color
    • Space Gray
  • Housing Material
    • Chassis: aluminum
    • Covers: plastic
  • Dimensions
    • Height: 2.5 cm (1.0 in)
    • Length: 8.0 cm (3.1 in)
    • Width: 8.0 cm (3.1 in)
    • Captive Cable Length: 15.0 cm (5.9 in)
  • Weight
    • 174.0 g (0.38 lbs)
Environmental
  • Ambient Temperature
    • Operating: 41°F to 95°F (5°C to 35°C)
    • Non-Operating: -4°F to 140°F (-20°C to 60°C)
  • Altitude
    • Operating: -304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
    • Non-Operating: -304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
  • Humidity
    • Operating: 8% to 90% non-condensing
    • Non-Operating: 5% to 95% non-condensing

Notes

  • In most scenarios the dock will draw 8W from its power source. When connected to a power adapter, the dock will draw power from the adapter instead of bus-powering from the host.
  • If the media reader or USB peripherals connected to the dock do not perform as expected, connect the dock to a dedicated USB-C power adapter.
  • Please note that while both of the USB ports on the OWC Travel Dock E can support ‘high power’ bus-powered USB devices with the appropriate cable type, such as the OWC Envoy Pro EX or the Apple Super Drive, it is not possible to connect two high-power, bus-powered USB devices at the same time, unless you have a dedicated power adapter connected to the dock’s USB-C Power Delivery port.
  • Ethernet port may take up to 60 seconds to negotiate a connection when used with iPadOS devices.
Manufacturer provided specifications for OWC p/n OWCTCDK6P2SG

Gallery

This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
Mac Pro
Mac Pro Rack (Early 2020)
(January 2020)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.5GHz 8-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro Rack (Early 2020)
(January 2020)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.3GHz 12-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro Rack (Early 2020)
(January 2020)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.2GHz 16-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro Rack (Early 2020)
(January 2020)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
2.7GHz 24-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro Rack (Early 2020)
(January 2020)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
2.5GHz 28-Core
Install videos coming soon
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Late 2019)
(December 2019)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.5GHz 8-Core
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Late 2019)
(December 2019)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.3GHz 12-Core
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Late 2019)
(December 2019)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
3.2GHz 16-Core
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Late 2019)
(December 2019)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
2.7GHz 24-Core
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Late 2019)
(December 2019)
Model ID: MacPro7,1
2.5GHz 28-Core
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Late 2020)
(November, 2020)
Model ID: MacBookPro17,1
Apple M1
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2020)
(May, 2020)
Model ID: MacBookPro16,3
1.4GHz i5, 1.7GHz i7
Detailed specs coming soon
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2020)
(May, 2020)
Model ID: MacBookPro16,2
2.0GHz i5, 2.3GHz i7
Detailed specs coming soon
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (16-inch Touch Mid 2019)
(November, 2019)
Model ID: MacBookPro16,1; MacBookPro16,4
2.6GHz i7, 2.3GHz i9, 2.4GHz i9
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (15-inch Touch Mid 2019)
(May, 2019)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,1; MacBookPro15,3
2.6GHz i7, 2.3GHz i9, 2.4GHz i9
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2019)
(July, 2019)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,4
1.4GHz i5, 1.7GHz i7
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2019)
(May, 2019)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,2
2.4GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (15-inch Touch Mid 2018)
(July, 2018)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,1
2.2GHz i7, 2.6GHz i7, 2.9GHz i9
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2018)
(July, 2018)
Model ID: MacBookPro15,2
2.3GHz i5, 2.7GHz i7
Install Videos coming soon
MacBook Pro Retina w/ Touch Bar
MacBook Pro (15-inch Touch Mid 2017)
(June, 2017)
Model ID: MacBookPro14,3
2.8GHz i7, 2.9GHz i7, 3.1GHz i7
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Mid 2017)
(June, 2017)
Model ID: MacBookPro14,2
3.1GHz i5, 3.3GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina display Mid 2017)
(June, 2017)
Model ID: MacBookPro14,1
2.3GHz i5, 2.5GHz i7
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Touch Late 2016)
(October, 2016)
Model ID: MacBookPro13,3
2.6GHz, 2.7GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Touch Late 2016)
(October, 2016)
Model ID: MacBookPro13,2
2.9GHz, 3.1GHz, 3.3GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina display Late 2016)
(October, 2016)
Model ID: MacBookPro13,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook USB-C 12-inch Unibody
MacBook (12-inch Retina Display 2017)
(June, 2017)
Model ID: MacBook10,1
1.2GHz Core m3, 1.3GHz i5, 1.4GHz i7
MacBook USB-C 12-inch Unibody
MacBook (12-inch Retina Display 2016)
(April, 2016)
Model ID: MacBook9,1
1.1GHz Core m3, 1.2GHz Core m5, 1.3GHz Core m7
MacBook SG 12-inch Unibody
MacBook (12-inch Retina Display 2015)
(April, 2015)
Model ID: MacBook8,1
1.1GHz Core M, 1.2GHz Core M, 1.3GHz Core M
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Late 2020)
(November, 2020)
Model ID: MacBookAir10,1
Apple M1
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Early 2020)
(March 2020)
Model ID: MacBookAir9,1
1.1GHz i3, 1.1GHz i5, 1.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2019)
(July 2019)
Model ID: MacBookAir8,2
1.6GHz i5
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Late 2018)
(November 2018)
Model ID: MacBookAir8.1
1.6GHz i5
Mac mini 2020
Mac mini (Late 2020)
(November, 2020)
Model ID: Macmini9,1
Apple M1
Mac mini 2018
Mac mini (Late 2018)
(November, 2018)
Model ID: Macmini8,1
3.6GHz i3, 3.0GHz i5, 3.2GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac Pro
(27-inch Late 2017)
(December 2017)
Model ID: iMacPro1,1
3.2GHz 8-core, 3.0GHz 10-core, 2.3GHz 14-core, 2.5GHz 18-core
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 4.5K display
(24-inch Mid 2021)
(May 2021)
Model ID: iMac21,1; iMac21,2
Apple M1
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Mid 2020)
(August 2020)
Model ID: iMac20,1; iMac20,2
3.1GHz i5, 3.3GHz i5, 3.8GHz i7, 3.6GHz i9
Detailed specs coming soon
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Early 2019)
(March 2019)
Model ID: iMac19,1
3.0GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.7GHz i5, 3.6GHz i9
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 4K display
(21.5-inch Early 2019)
(March 2019)
Model ID:iMac19,2
3.6GHz i3, 3.0GHz i5, 3.2GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,3
3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i5, 3.8GHz i5, 4.2GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 4K display
(21.5-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,2
3.0GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.6GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID:iMac18,1
2.3GHz i5
iPad Pro 12.9
iPad Pro (12.9-inch, WiFi only)
(May 2021)
Model ID: TBD
128GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1.0TB, 2.0TB
iPad Pro 12.9
iPad Pro (12.9-inch, WiFi/Cellular)
(May 2021)
Model ID: TBD
128GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1.0TB, 2.0TB
iPad Pro 12.9
iPad Pro (11-inch, WiFi only)
(May 2021)
Model ID: TBD
128GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1.0TB, 2.0TB
iPad Pro 12.9
iPad Pro (11-inch, WiFi/Cellular)
(May 2021)
Model ID: TBD
128GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1.0TB, 2.0TB
iPad Pro 12.9
iPad Pro (12.9-inch, WiFi only)
(March 2020)
Model ID: iPad8,11
128GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1.0TB
iPad Pro 12.9
iPad Pro (12.9-inch, WiFi/Cellular)
(March 2020)
Model ID: iPad8,12
128GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1.0TB
iPad Pro 12.9
iPad Pro (11-inch, WiFi only)
(March 2020)
Model ID: iPad8,9
128GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1.0TB
iPad Pro 12.9
iPad Pro (11-inch, WiFi/Cellular)
(March 2020)
Model ID: iPad8,10
128GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1.0TB
iPad Pro 12.9
iPad Pro (12.9-inch, WiFi only)
(October 2018)
Model ID: iPad8,1; iPad8,2
64GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1.0TB
iPad Pro 12.9
iPad Pro (12.9-inch, WiFi/Cellular)
(October 2018)
Model ID: iPad8,3; iPad8,4
64GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1.0TB
iPad Pro 12.9
iPad Pro (11-inch, WiFi only)
(October 2018)
Model ID: iPad8,5; iPad8,6
64GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1.0TB
iPad Pro 12.9
iPad Pro (11-inch, WiFi/Cellular)
(October 2018)
Model ID: iPad8,7; iPad8,8
64GB, 256GB, 512GB, 1.0TB
iPad Air 4
iPad Air (4th Generation)
(September, 2020)
Model ID: iPad13,1; iPad13,2
64GB, 256GB
Android Smartphones and Tablets
Android Smartphones & Tablets
Compatible with Android Smartphones & Tablets with USB Type-C ports that meet the specifications listed above.
PC Desktop
PC Compatible
Compatible with Intel / AMD based desktop/laptop PCs with built-in USB-C ports.

Includes

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 16 out of 16 (100%) reviewers would recommend this product
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: evanparker
Rating: 5/5 Great June 19, 2021 So far it has all the ports I need for travel, and ethernet is a nice bonus. A great replacement for a bag of dongles and card reader.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support June 21, 2021 Thank you for providing us with the feedback! We are delighted to hear how pleased you are with the Travel Dock.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: armyman1969
Rating: 5/5 Works great June 17, 2021 Very portable, easy to use and is well worth it.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from OWC, Support June 17, 2021 Thank you for purchasing the travel dock! Awesome to hear it fits well into your workflow and space.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: halfmac
Rating: 5/5 Does What Needs To Do June 7, 2021 Adding ethernet was a great idea. Had the previous version int it did what it should do. A very necessary addition to a laptop.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: evanparker
Rating: 5/5 Great little device June 2, 2021 Does everything you need when traveling, replacing all the ports from the old MBP in a compact package.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DarkTurquoiseWhale-46405
Rating: 5/5 Great dock! May 28, 2021 Excellent dock, does exactly what it said it would

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BlushingChameleon-4083
Rating: 4/5 Works better than the OWC 14 Thunderbolt Dock for less money. I'm on my second OWC 14 Dock. We'll see. May 26, 2021 Nothing more to say.

If no, I'll get a refund and call it quits. Ball's in your court.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CourageousDeer-14853
Rating: 5/5 Love this dock May 20, 2021 This little dock is great and works just as described. I had the one without the Ethernet port before and really liked it too. I recommend to any and all.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) OWC USB-C Travel Dock E - Space Gray.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: senored
Rating: 5/5 Connects all my devices May 11, 2021 When my 27” iMac quit after 12 years, I decided to use my MacBook Pro as my main computer. I don’t use the travel dock E for travel. I connect it to my new LG 27” monitor, iMac keyboard, printer, Ethernet, laptop power cord and SD camera card. I elevated the monitor, laptop, and Travel Dock E with risers for good posture.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: EncouragingPanda-93054
Rating: 4/5 Minimum essentials, mini size, mini price, full speed. May 2, 2021 Up-to-date technology in a handy package. Trusted OWC quality. The only grime is that the USB ports' power feed is a bit low (900mA), and when bus powered, only one power-hungry device (like a phone, external 2.5" HDD or backlit keyboard) may be connected for not to trip the whole dock. The dock does not automatically switch between external power or bus power in the event of a blackout, which may also be a good thing.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: FierceKangaroo-62013
Rating: 5/5 The little dock that could April 29, 2021 This is really handy. Extra ports when you need them. Small enough to always be there. An SD card reader and Ethernet make this a must have for any mobile studio.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ZealousRattlesnake-28326
Rating: 4/5 Great dock with only one problem April 29, 2021 the OWC is a great doc for my IPad Pro for connecting to Ethernet,USB, and charging at the same time. ONly one slight problem: the USB C cord connecting it to the IPad is too short. It needs to be at least doubled in size as many of us use the Mac Magic keyboard for IPad and the cord it too short to fit into the suspended Ipad C connector on Ipad and rest on the ground so that leaves the Travel Dock partly suspended in the air, pressuring the cord and the Ipad USB C connector. Otherwise, i like everything about it and would have given it 5 stars

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: don-92857
Rating: 5/5 Perfect Fit Works as Expected April 26, 2021 Just as it's larger counterpart which I use for my Mac Pro, this compliments my MacBook Pro nicely. Provides all the connectivity Apple feels necessary to delete from their products. Remember Apple's unique monitor connector, Firewire, two different versions? Great ideas forced upon us by Apple. Small footprint, fits nicely into my laptop case. I have a laptop to be portable, this fits the bill, we can't always be on the internet and need portable drives, additional monitor space or tablet to plug in via usb. Keep up the great work OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: HelpfulBoa-88061
Rating: 5/5 Works great April 26, 2021 No problems. Works as expected. Was a little troublesome at first as I had to install a driver for the Ethernet port to work.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ShinyMink-28290
Rating: 5/5 Compact and Reliable April 26, 2021 I've purchased the two previous models and upgraded from each - first for the higher power and then for the Ethernet. They get better and better. I'm using every port with a Dell XPS13 laptop and have had no trouble. The photo shows the dock mounted beneath a desk.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BetterChameleon-30436
Rating: 4/5 not a bad dock April 26, 2021 Customer service team are great. The product is average. But I am happy I have it

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: johnrbrand
Rating: 5/5 Excellent portable dock April 25, 2021 Features work as advertised. Pass-through power port greatly improves laptop mobility. Carrying it with your USB-C laptop when traveling returns the connection functionality missing in recent MacBooks. Attractive and solid unit.

I would recommend this item to a friend!