Quality Solutions. Expert Support. Since 1988.

MacSales.com Logo

Sabrent

Premium 4–Port Aluminum USB 3.0 Hub
For 2012 iMac and later

Mac / USB 3.0
No more need to twist cables to get to the ports vertically, now you can easily access 4 ports at an ergonomic angle.

The USB 3.0 Hub adds four additional USB ports to your iMac, allowing you to connect USB devices such as digital cameras, phones, external hard drives, flash drives, and printers to one convenient place. Its sleek aluminum design the perfect complement to your iMac computer.

It does not require any software or complicated installation process. With a slim design, it saves you precious desktop space.
Features
  • Brings four USB ports to the front side of your iMac.
  • Easy to set up. Plug & Play, Hot–Swappable.
  • Exclusively designed for the iMac Slim Aluminum Unibody model released November 2012 or later. (21 inch / 27 inch / 5K).
  • Please note: When using devices that require additional power such as a external bus-powered hard drive, Sabrent PS-5V4W can be used to provide additional power for the hub.

    Product Specifications:

    Sabrent Part Number

    • HB–IMCU

    Interface

    • (4) USB 3.0 Type–A

    Color

    • Aluminum

    Power

    • Bus powered
    1. 2.4Ghz wireless devices, such as wireless keyboard and mouse adapters, may not work in close proximity to USB 3.0 devices or hubs. Connecting to a USB 2.0 port is recommended. Manufacturer provided specifications for Sabrent p/n HB-IMCU UPC#: 819921012968

    Gallery

    Notes on Compatibility:
    1. 21.5-inch iMacs can utilize the Sabrent hub in any of the 4 built-in USB ports.
    2. 27-inch iMacs can utilize the Sabrent hub on either the first or fourth built-in USB port.
    This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
    iMac Intel
    iMac w/Retina 5K display
    (27-inch Late 2015)
    (October 2015)
    Model ID:iMac17,1
    3.2GHz i5, 3.3GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
    iMac Intel
    iMac w/Retina 5K display
    (27-inch Mid 2015)
    (May 2015)
    Model ID: iMac15,1
    3.3GHz i5, 3.5GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
    iMac Intel
    iMac w/ retina 4K display
    (October 2015)
    Model ID:16,2
    3.1GHz i5, 3.3GHz i7
    iMac Intel
    iMac (21.5-inch Late 2015)
    (October 2015)
    Model ID:iMac16,1; iMac16,2
    1.6GHz i5, 2.8GHz i5
    Detailed specs coming soon
    Install Videos coming soon
    iMac Intel
    iMac w/Retina 5K display
    (27-inch Late 2014)
    (October 2014)
    Model ID: iMac15,1
    3.5GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
    iMac Intel
    iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2014)
    (June 2014)
    Model ID: iMac14,4
    1.4GHz i5
    iMac Intel
    iMac (21.5-inch Late 2015)
    (October 2015)
    Model ID:16,1
    1.6GHz i5, 2.8GHz i5
    Detailed specs coming soon
    Install Videos coming soon
    iMac Intel
    iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
    (September, 2013)
    Model ID: iMac14,2
    3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
    iMac Intel
    iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
    (September 2013)
    Model ID: iMac14,2
    3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
    iMac Intel
    iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
    (October 2012)
    Model ID: iMac13,2
    2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
    iMac Intel
    iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
    (October 2012)
    Model ID: iMac13,1
    2.7GHz i5 , 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7

    Customer Ratings

    Write a Review 4.8 / 5 9 out of 10 (90%) reviewers would recommend this product
    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Bidger Location: Seoul, but really from Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Great addition. Puts ports where you need them. March 19, 2017 This product was easy to install and it looks great. The colour matches the silver on the iMac really well and the design allows easy access to four ports without fiddling around behind the computer or having a hub dangling around on the desk.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: MJKtrains Location: Randburg, South Africa Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 is great idea and will make life easier March 11, 2017 a pleasure to buy and receive the item will make life a lot easier being able to plug in USB cables from the front of the iMac

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Brimac Location: WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Easy, compact, access to USB 3.0 ports March 5, 2017 This little hub plugs into your iMac to give access to four more USB ports on the front of your computer, making it much easier to attach accessories without fumbling behind your monitor. Attaches in seconds and looks like a part of your computer.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: Simillibus Location: Portland, Oregon Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 very nice addition January 30, 2017 this is a very nice addition to my iMac (27" Retina late 2014 model). Moves 4 USB ports to a convenient location for items frequently swapped, from 1 of the ports behind the monitor Fits nicely, looks like past of the original equipment, as it likely should have been.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: PhotoGuy2 Location: Philadelphia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 4/5 Nice Clean Solution January 9, 2017 Wanted to add USB 3 slots and this is a slick way to make them easily accessible. Like it.

    Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
    Reviewer: Geno56 Location: Richmond, VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Looks almost like it was built there. December 28, 2016 I had no issue installing this as plug and play. I looked at it first and I figured out it would most likely be the best to install it in the USB port right next to the SD card slot on my 27 inch iMac. The little tabs on the top of the hub fit right in the slot on the bottom of the iMac frame. It was a perfect fit. Note the part that plugs into the USB on the iMac does not go all the way into the back of the iMac so the chromed metal disappears. It does not need to and do not try to force it. I so far have charged phones and tablets and run a portable hard drive from the ports. No problem but you can likely charge a phone faster using the charger that came with the phone. That is normal though. I have no regrets on the purchase of this hub.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: tonyL Location: AZ Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 5/5 Great fit December 22, 2016 Works great & looks like its part of the iMac

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: MrMikeT Location: LA LA Land Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
    Rating: 4/5 Good. Get it on sale. December 15, 2016 I got mine on sale. It's good. I loved the idea, but not in love with the reality. Works well. Took a bit of finagling to fit it in, but once in it has stayed.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Reviewer: Zogmorph Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 Elegant and functional December 7, 2016 While the iMac is a fine computer and a masterpiece of industrial design, it can be very inconvenient and annoying that ALL of the ports and sockets and buttons are on the back.

    There are several options to frontside USB accessibility - hubs, “left-angle” extension cables, and some poorly-engineered extensions.

    Sabrent’s attractively-packaged HB-IMCU 4-port USB 3.0 hub is the most elegant solution I have seen. It clips very securely to the bottom of the iMac and blends very well with the natural aluminum finish.

    Users need to carefully follow instructions - it works fine with all ports on the 21.5” iMac models, but for reasons NOBODY (including Apple) can explain, it only works with certain ports on 27” models. This does not effect functionality, but because it is a little tricky to install and remove, you’ll want to pay attention and get it right the first time.

    While there are provisions for an AC adapter, it is not included and only available for separate purchase as an extra. In most cases, it is also unnecessary. I loaded all 4 ports with USB-powered hard drives and flash drives, and everything worked simultaneously without external power. Apparently, some older USB devices are more demanding and Sabrent didn’t want to leave anyone behind.

    The closest things I have to complaints might be that when the keyboard is connected through this hub, the iMac won’t wake from sleep mode when I tap a key (no biggie, it wakes when I move the mouse), and the hub doesn’t quite mount flush with bottom of iMac, it’s slightly crooked (unclear whether this is typical, but this is strictly a cosmetic issue).

    Sabrent also closely watches its product reviews. When I had problems with their 7-port aluminum hub and posted a negative review, I was contacted by their customer service and received this as a replacement. I've seen a couple of other reviews with similar experiences. While I didn't initiate the contact with their customer service, I have every reason to think they would have been equally conscienscious if I had called them instead.

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Verified Buyer
    Reviewer: momobroc Location: belgium Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
    Rating: 5/5 excellent product October 18, 2016 Easy to use, more claws looking behind mac

    I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

    Sabrent Premium 4-Port Aluminum USB 3.0 Hub For 2012 iMac and later Mfr P/N: HB-IMCU MacSales.com SKU: SABHBIMCU Adds 4 USB 3.0 ports to your iMac 2012 or later — Up to 5Gbps data transfer rate Sabrent 1 Year Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $49.99MacSales.com Price $34.75
    Add to CartSabrent HB-IMCU In Stock, Click to Buy Now