Skip to main content
Home » New & Pre-Owned Apple

OWC Special Offer Available

$100.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - for only $19.00 with this Mac! ($119.99 value, limit 1 rebate per Mac)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y

Apple 21.5-inch iMac with Retina 4K display:

16GB Memory | 256GB Solid-State Drive

3GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5 Processor

Mid 2017

Used, Good condition
System Configuration:
  • Memory:
    • 16GB PC19200 2400 MHz DDR4
  • Storage:
    • 256GB Solid-State Drive
  • Networking:
    • Built-in 802.11a/b/g/n/ac Wi-Fi
    • Built-in 10/100/1000BASE-T Gigabit Ethernet
    • Built-in Bluetooth 4.2
    • 2 x Thunderbolt 3 Ports
  • Video:
    • 21.5-inch (diagonal) Retina 4K LED-backlit widescreen display with IPS technology
    • AMD Radeon Pro 555 with 2GB VRAM
  • Pre-Loaded/Licensed Software:
    • Supports up to macOS 13.x Ventura
OWC Tested. Quality You Can Trust.
OWC individually inspects and fully tests every pre-owned computer to confirm full functionality and accurate grading. All refurbishments and/or upgrades are performed by our Apple Certified Technicians. That's why OWC is the most trusted name in Mac refurbishments.
Experience huge savings on iMac!
Any iteration of iMac is a fantastic all-in-one machine, and when purchased through MacSales.com, you can count on all the horsepower at a fraction of the price of buying new. Add this 2017 iMac to your workflow at dramatic savings!
Powered by a 3GHz Intel Core i5 Kaby Lake Processor (4 Total Cores)
Talk about oomph. This baby has some power and then some. More processor cores equals more tasks and projects you can do at once. And with a Turbo Boost up to 3.5, you will definitely have enough power for years to come without feeling like your processors are holding you back.
16GB of Memory
This iMac is champing at the bit to get to work. With 16GB of memory you can multi-task with efficiency and experience less lag time with launching and saving applications. If you need more memory, you can expand to 64.0 GB with this model iMac.
256GB Solid-State Drive
This machine comes with a 256GB Apple OEM/Factory Solid-State Drive. This SSD brings some serious horsepower to the track. With SSDs operating dramatically faster than hard drives, you will love the performance gains of having this SSD.
Gigabit Ethernet, Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth Networking
This iMac, in addition to the one RJ-45 port that supports 10/100/1000BASE-T networks, also has a Bluetooth 4.2 and 802.11a/b/g/n/ac Wi-Fi card installed. So you're covered for all your wired and wireless connection needs.
Apple Model Numbers: MNDY2LL/A

Includes

  • Apple iMac (Retina 4K, 21.5-inch, Mid 2017)
  • Power cord
  • Supports up to macOS 13.x Ventura
Keyboard and mouse not included

Machine Specifications*

Apple 21.5-inch iMac
(Retina 4K, Mid 2017)
Model ID: iMac18,2 View how to find model ID
Supports macOS 10.12.5 Sierra* through 13.x Ventura. This Mac will come pre-installed with macOS 10.15 Catalina or later, and free updates are available from Apple up to the latest supported version.

(*) Oldest supported OS can vary depending on the exact date of manufacture, and may differ from what is shown.

Processor

  • Processor Type
    • 3.0GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5 "Kaby Lake" processor
  • Turbo Boost
    • Up to 3.5GHz
  • Cache
    • 6MB On-chip Shared L3 Cache
  • Supports Hyper Threading
    • Yes

Memory

  • Memory (RAM)
    • 16GB installed
    • Supports up to 64.0 GB
    • 2400 MHz DDR4 SO-DIMM PC19200 260 Pin memory
    • 2 total memory slots

Internal Storage

  • Bus Type
    • SATA 6.0Gb/s Hard Drive Bus
  • Drive Bay
    • One 2.5-inch Drive Bay
  • Bay 1
    • 256GB Solid-State Drive
  • Secondary Drive Bus
    • 8.0 GT/s NVMe x2 Drive Bus
  • Secondary Bay
    • One Blade Drive Bay

External Connectivity

  • Ports
    • (4) USB 3.2 Gen 1 Type-A ports
    • (2) Thunderbolt 3 ports (40Gb/s)
    • Headphone port / 3.5 mm headphone jack
    • 10/100/1000BASE-T Ethernet (RJ-45 connector)
    • (1) SDXC card slot
    • (1) Kensington Lock Slot

Power

  • Line Voltage
    • 100-240V AC
  • Frequency
    • 50Hz to 60Hz, single phase

Network

  • Bluetooth
    • Built-in Bluetooth 4.2
  • Ethernet
    • Built-in 10/100/1000BASE-T Gigabit Ethernet
  • Wi-Fi
    • Built-in 802.11a/b/g/n/ac Wi-Fi

Audio

  • Speakers
    • Built-in stereo speakers
  • Microphone
    • Dual microphones
  • Headset Support
    • Support for Apple Earphones with Mic

Display / Monitor

  • Screen
    • 21.5-inch (diagonal) Retina 4K LED-backlit widescreen display with IPS technology
    • 4096 by 2304 resolution at 219 pixels per inch
    • Support for one billion colors
    • 16:9 aspect ratio

Graphics / Video

  • Graphics Processor
    • AMD Radeon Pro 555 with 2GB dedicated GDDR5
  • Details
    • Simultaneously supports full native resolution on the built-in display and up to 4096 by 2304 pixels on an external display
    • Support for extended desktop, video mirroring, and AirPlay Mirroring

Input

  • Keyboard
    • Not included
  • Mouse
    • Not included

Environmental

  • Operating Temperature
    • 50° to 95° F (10° to 35° C)
  • Storage Temperature
    • -40° to 116° F (-40° to 47° C)
  • Relative Humidity
    • 5% to 95% noncondensing
  • Maximum Operating Altitude
    • 10,000 feet
  • Maximum Storage Altitude
    • 15,000 feet
  • Maximum Shipping Altitude
    • 35,000 feet

Physical

  • Color
    • Silver
  • Height
    • 17.70" (44.96cm)
  • Width
    • 20.80" (52.83cm)
  • Depth
    • 6.90" (17.53cm)
  • Weight
    • 12.5lb. (5.7kg)

*While researched thoroughly via independent resources, OWC does not make any claim to accuracy or completeness of these specifications.

Good Condition

Used, Good:
These units have some stories to tell. While the housings may have scratches and/or dents, tarnishing, and/or noticeable screen scratches, they are 100% operational. Images shown are examples from actual units, but exact unit condition will vary.

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

90 Day OWC Fulfilled Limited Warranty

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.5 / 5 18 out of 22 (82%) reviewers would recommend this product
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Reviewer1902091508
Rating: 5/5 Nice iMac January 28, 2024 Great machine at a remarkable price. The whole process was great! Configuration was a breeze, ordering was quick, shipping was very fast!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple 21.5" iMac Retina 4K (2017) 3GHz Quad Core i5 - Used, Good condition.

Response from OWC, Support January 29, 2024 Thank you so much for the amazing review! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with us and that you love your new iMac. We strive to offer the best products at incredible prices, and we're delighted that we exceeded your expectations. It's great to know that the configuration process was seamless, and that our ordering and shipping were fast. We appreciate your support and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Don't hesitate to contact us with further questions, comments, or concerns. https://eshop.macsales.com/Service/
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Reviewer918724906
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic iMac in great condition January 23, 2024 I couldn't be happier with my iMac purchase from OWC/MacSales. The computer works wonderfully and came in excellent condition.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple 21.5" iMac Retina 4K (2017) 3.6GHz Quad Core i7 - Used, Very Good condition.

Response from OWC, Support January 23, 2024 Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are thrilled to hear that you are completely satisfied with your iMac purchase. We take great pride in providing our customers with top-notch products in excellent condition. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions, comments, or concerns.  https://eshop.macsales.com/Service/
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Reviewer3793193501
Rating: 5/5 Great mac January 19, 2024 Is the process EDU good support?

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple 21.5" iMac Retina 4K (2017) 3GHz Quad Core i5 - Used, Good condition.

Response from OWC, Support January 19, 2024 Thank you so much for your review! We're thrilled to hear that you're enjoying your new Mac. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions, comments, or concerns.  https://eshop.macsales.com/Service/
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Mikey
Rating: 4/5 Great Mac, poor ad description January 13, 2024 Mac was advertised as 256GB SDD but did not clarify the drive as a NMe. The SN resolved to a few configurations that all implied HDD or fusion. I called OWC after cracking it open, this iMac had no 2.5 SSD and was initially told it would support a 2.5 if I added the cable and one would be comp’ed. After receiving no messages to confirm any shipment, I contacted OWC again and was told this iMac would NOT support a 2.5 SSD. My intent to upgrade and purchase of an inexpensive 1TB 2.5 SSD was foiled and had to return it for a NMe at 2x the $. This delayed getting done in time for my wife as a Christmas present. The SSD I returned was issued as a store credit (not cool) and I received no notification nor message that the drive was received or that the credit existed as it does not appear in my account. Not disappointed in the product, just OWCs level of customer support.

Response from OWC, Support January 15, 2024 Thank you for your feedback! We apologize for any confusion caused by the ad description of the Mac. We appreciate you reaching out to our team and giving us the opportunity to assist you further. We're glad we were able to resolve the issue and get you the right NMe drive for your iMac. We value your business and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Adam
Rating: 5/5 I Would Give 6 stars if I could. December 15, 2023 I am simply blown away with my purchase of a 2017 iMac 21.5" from MacSales. I bought this device when they were running some sort of flash sale and I almost couldn't believe my eyes when I saw the listing. It was extremely cheap for an iMac with these specs (i7 chip, and SSD upgrades) so I figured there had to be something wrong with the condition of the iMac, right? Nope. The desktop was delivered in 1 day!! (I live in Chicago and I didn't realize they ship from a location nearby, but still, insanely quick shipping times.) And the condition was nearly perfect. There are some very slight scratches on the base stand, but the screen is flawless and everything was wrapped beautifully. I've been using this machine for about a week and I couldn't be happier with the speed and responsiveness to my other Apple devices. Overall, this was an excellent purchase and was incredible value for the price. I will definitely be returning to MacSales for any future computer needs and I would highly recommend them to anybody looking to purchase a refurbished Apple computer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple 21.5" iMac Retina 4K (2017) 3.6GHz Quad Core i7 - Used, Very Good condition.

Response from OWC, Support December 15, 2023 Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience with MacSales! We're thrilled to hear that you are enjoying your 2017 iMac 21.5" and that it exceeded your expectations, especially with the i7 chip and SSD upgrades. It's fantastic to hear that the flash sale provided exceptional value, and we're pleased that the shipping was not only quick but also exceeded your expectations. We understand the importance of the condition of your purchase, and we're glad to know that your iMac arrived nearly perfect. We truly appreciate your trust in MacSales for your refurbished Apple computer needs. Don't hesitate to contact us with further questions, comments, or concerns. https://eshop.macsales.com/Service/
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ZanyWildcat-39316
Rating: 4/5 The i7 is so good it makes me wanna work more. September 25, 2023 I knew I was wasting precious time working on my PC. Waiting for websites and apps to load or refresh. I knew I had to switch to an SSD drive and a faster chip. I also knew I wanted a Mac. The only thing I can complain about the iMac i7 is that I wish I purchased a larger screen it is phenomenal.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple 21.5" iMac Retina 4K (2017) 3.6GHz Quad Core i7 - Used, Good condition.

Response from OWC, Support September 25, 2023 Thank you for choosing OWC for your technical needs. We are thrilled to hear the swap from PC to Mac was a smooth one and that the 21.5-inch 2017 iMac is working beautifully for you! Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions, comments, or concerns.  https://eshop.macsales.com/Service/
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: falldesign
Rating: 5/5 I will buy from OWC again with conficence! July 17, 2023 Purchase was easy and quick. Shipping was well packed and easy to track. Product arrived unharmed and was exactly as advertised. Quite a savings from buying new and had the iMac up and running in an hour with data transfer. Thanks!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple 21.5" iMac Retina 4K (2017) 3.4GHz Quad Core i5 - Used, Mint condition.

Response from OWC, Support July 18, 2023 Thank you for choosing OWC for your technical needs. We are delighted to know that you found the purchasing process smooth and easy. We are delighted to hear is in impeccable condition and running great! Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions, comments, or concerns.  https://eshop.macsales.com/Service/
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: steve-92553
Rating: 5/5 Best Refurbished Mac Reseller in North America June 20, 2023 OWC is my trusted go-to reseller of all after-market Mac products and refurbished systems, and their customer service is second to none ! Trust me, I've been working in the Technology industry for 23 years, and I know good service and products when I see them!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple 21.5" iMac Retina 4K (2017) 3GHz Quad Core i5 - Used, Excellent condition.

Response from OWC, Support June 21, 2023 Thank you for the feedback on the Apple 21.5" iMac. We are happy to hear that you received a great product and that our customer service is second to none! Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions, comments, or concerns. https://eshop.macsales.com/Service/
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ChristopherSmith
Rating: 5/5 Yahoo! June 20, 2023 I knew that buying a mac meant 1) spending 2 grand for a computer that would be 2) Obsolete within months. Buying used meant avoiding both problemd!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple 21.5" iMac Retina 4K (2017) 3GHz Quad Core i5 - Used, Good condition.

Response from OWC, Support June 21, 2023 Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you had a positive OWC experience and that we met all of your expectations with the selection of your iMac. Don't hesitate to contact us with further questions, comments, or concerns. https://eshop.macsales.com/Service/
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JohnInMN
Rating: 5/5 Great Computer June 6, 2023 Very easy to locate, and then to purchase. Shipping included it arrived in two days. Couldn’t be more pleased!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple 21.5" iMac Retina 4K (2017) 3GHz Quad Core i5 - Used, Excellent condition.

Response from OWC, Support June 6, 2023 Thanks for your honest feedback, johnmdegner. We're delighted to hear that the website was very easy to navigate and use and that the quick shipping was just a pleasant bonus to your experience. Don't hesitate to contact us with further questions, comments, or concerns. https://eshop.macsales.com/Service/
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ShyMockingbird-60623
Rating: 2/5 Not quite right!!! May 24, 2023 Computer arrived in great visible shape. From the beginning I have had to reboot consistently when my FACTSET. program would stall all the time. It also was fairly slow. I would immediately put it on my laptop and it ran very consistently. Not happy with the overall operation of consistently having to reboot in order to achieve a solid working environment.

This review is from Apple 21.5" iMac Retina 4K (2017) 3.6GHz Quad Core i7 - Used, Very Good condition.

Response from OWC, Support May 24, 2023 Your honest feedback is appreciated, and we apologize that your iMac didn't meet your expectations. We see that you contacted us via email in case# 01830674, and our Technical Support Representative Cynthia responded. However, we have not yet heard back from you. It would be extremely helpful if you could review your emails, and Cynthia will be more than happy to assist you in the future.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DistinctOx-79346
Rating: 5/5 very good value May 2, 2023 I don't think I could get that level of performance anywhere for less.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple 21.5" iMac Retina 4K (2017) 3GHz Quad Core i5 - Used, Very Good condition.

Response from OWC, Support May 4, 2023 We appreciate you taking the time to provide your honest feedback. We love to hear that your iMac purchase met all your expectations in all aspects. Don't hesitate to contact us with further questions, comments, or concerns. https://eshop.macsales.com/Service/
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PlainParrot-57136
Rating: 5/5 Used iMac April 27, 2023 I purchased a used iMac from MacSales and I'm very happy. The computer is in mint condition as advertised and operates perfectly. The computer arrived in a few days which was faster than I expected. I would do business with this company again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple 21.5" iMac Retina 4K (2017) 3GHz Quad Core i5 - Used, Mint condition.

Response from OWC, Support May 2, 2023 Thank you for choosing OWC for your technical needs. I'm so glad to hear that happy with the iMac and it's always very cool to see an order like this arrive earlier than expected! Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions, comments, or concerns.  https://eshop.macsales.com/Service/
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ShinyGoat-68289
Rating: 5/5 Received in perfect condition Like New! April 17, 2023 This iMac was just like new. It was in an original Apple box and everything works just like new. Runs fast and has everything that I ordered. Really great and I will do business with them again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple 21.5" iMac Retina 4K (2017) 3.6GHz Quad Core i7 - Used, Excellent condition.

Response from OWC, Support April 18, 2023 Thank you for choosing OWC for your technical needs. I'm so glad to hear the iMac is working great for you and that you had a great experience ordering from us! Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions, comments, or concerns.  https://eshop.macsales.com/Service/
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacMic60
Rating: 5/5 Beautiful display and fast! April 13, 2023 I have a 2008 G5 for producing music and photo. It recently became obsolete for paying bills and posting on eBay so I needed something newer for those tasks. I have trusted OWC for over a decade and looked to them for a secondary computer and thought an iMac would do the trick. I wanted something that ran the latest version of OSX and would remain viable for years. This iMac does the trick and came beautifully packed and ready to go. A few software updates later as well as data transfer via Ethernet cable and I couldn’t be more pleased. Thank you OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple 21.5" iMac Retina 4K (2017) 3.6GHz Quad Core i7 - Used, Very Good condition.

Response from OWC, Support April 13, 2023 Thank you for choosing OWC for your technical needs. We are so happy you are enjoying the Apple 21.5" iMac! Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions, comments, or concerns. https://eshop.macsales.com/Service/
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jonni6624
Rating: 5/5 As good as new! March 29, 2023 Purchased an iMac late 2017 beefed up enough to run media at our church. It arrived quick and I was so impressed with the packaging! Not much chance of damage in transit the way this thing was packaged! It works like a new one! Couldn’t be happier!! Thank you OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple 21.5" iMac Retina 4K (2017) 3.4GHz Quad Core i5 - Used, Very Good condition.

Response from OWC, Support March 29, 2023 Thank you for choosing OWC for your technical needs. So happy that you are enjoying the Apple 21.5" iMac! Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions, comments, or concerns. https://eshop.macsales.com/Service/
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TamePiranhacanada
Rating: 1/5 Damaged March 20, 2023 Damaged computer, miserable experience trying to replace

This review is from Apple 21.5" iMac Retina 4K (2017) 3.6GHz Quad Core i7 - Used, Very Good condition.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CheerfulMoose-29457
Rating: 5/5 Excellent machine! March 12, 2023 This Mac has exceeded my expectations. With Parallels 18 I can easily work with my Windows files. And macOS Ventura is also excellent. I am very satisfied with this machine.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple 21.5" iMac Retina 4K (2017) 3.6GHz Quad Core i7 - Used, Very Good condition.

Response from OWC, Support March 14, 2023 That is wonderful to hear! Mac's are great machines, and when take care of, they can provide a lot of life to customers. For this reason, we work to provide high quality refurbished and used Mac's so not only customer's can have a long lasting machine, but they can do what they need with it to make it work the way they need. Whether its using it with the latest macOS or programs like Parallels, it all starts with getting a quality Mac, and that's something we are always happy to provide.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ZealousGoat-9
Rating: 5/5 Great buy$$$ March 9, 2023 What can I say it was great value and very clean condition (like new). Will buy again from OWC

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple 21.5" iMac Retina 4K (2017) 3.4GHz Quad Core i5 - Used, Very Good condition.

Response from OWC, Support March 10, 2023 Thanks for leaving a review and sharing your experience with us, we're glad to hear that the iMac purchased from us was a great value and arrived in a very nice state. We pride ourselves in our high quality Apple refurbished computers, if you ever have any questions or concerns please let us know at support@owc.com!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RM
Rating: 3/5 Ordered what was described as "Mint Condition" December 5, 2022 Ordered what was described as "Mint Condition" iMac but received what is really "Good". The aluminum edges are rough like they were scraped on cement, the screen has a number of scratches and has some sort of oily coating on it that I'm not sure how to remove. So far seems to run ok but I did pay extra for "Mint". I have a well used 2011 iMac in better condition.

This review is from Apple 21.5" iMac Retina 4K (2017) 3GHz Quad Core i5 - Used, Mint condition.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: WittyArmadillo-32827
Rating: 5/5 Buy with Confidence! July 15, 2021 This was the third purchase I have made from MacSales and each time I'm amazed at the great value, choice and quality or their refurbished Macs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple 21.5" iMac Retina 4K (2017) 3.6GHz Quad Core i7 - Used, Mint condition.

Response from OWC, Support July 15, 2021 Thank you for your kind review and continued business, we look forward to speaking to you again in the future!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: macegel
Rating: 5/5 Is this really used? July 6, 2021 I ordered a mint used computer, but didn't expect something this nice. There were no marks or hint of wear on it anywhere. They easily could have sold it as new. I was surprised to receive it less keyboard and mouse, but that ain't no big thing. (I just missed that detail in the description). I still had the keyboard & mouse from my old iMac, and they worked fine. It came exactly as I had spec'd it out, and performs beautifully. I'm delighted!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple 21.5" iMac Retina 4K (2017) 3.6GHz Quad Core i7 - Used, Mint condition.

Response from OWC, Support July 8, 2021 We are glad to hear you're satisfied with your iMac purchase, if you ever need assistance please don't hesitate to contact us!
Apple 21.5-inch iMac with Retina 4K display 3GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5 Processor OWC SKU: UABQ1HS3XX21XXD Used, Good condition 90 Day OWC Fulfilled Limited Warranty Ships: Within 24 Hours
Supply Limited: 16 available
Only $349.00MacSales.com Price $349.00
Add to CartApple MNDY2LL/A In Stock, Click to Buy Now