Skip to main content
Home » Expansion Cards

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Expansion Cards items available.

We recommend NewerTech MAXPower 4-Port USB 3.2 (5Gb/s) PCIe Expansion Card (Mfr P/N: MXPCIE4U3) from Newer Technology for $24.00 as a suitable alternative.

NewerTech
MAXPower USB/eSATA 2x2 Host Adapter for OS X 10.6 - 10.8.2

Mac / USB 3.0 / eSATA
Maximum Versatility
Designed specifically for OS X 10.6 - 10.8.2, the MAXPower USB/eSATA 2x2 Host Adapter for OS X 10.6 - 10.8.2 comes with a custom built driver and is the perfect companion card for systems which still require a legacy OS. For systems which are running 10.8.3 or later the driverless MAXPower USB/eSATA 2x2 Host Adapter is also available.
Maximum Integration
The power of USB 3.0 and SATA 6G high-speed interfaces are brought together on a single PCIe 2.0 card with the MAXPower USB/eSATA 2x2 host adapter. With both high-speed USB 3.0 and 6Gb/s eSATA connectivity, the MAXPower USB/eSATA host adapter provides connections to the latest technology. This highly integrated I/O card saves valuable PCIe slots while adding the throughput desired for demanding applications like video editing, audio mixing, and photography.
Maximum Performance
The MAXPower USB/eSATA 2x2 host adapter provides two eSATA ports that are compatible with the latest 6G technology such as SSDs, allowing for speeds up to 6Gb/s. It is fully compatible with SATA I (1.5G), SATA II (3G) and USB 2.0 and supports legacy devices, hubs, and external optical drives. Simple to integrate and operate, it supports hot-plugging, eliminating the need to restart the computer when connecting or disconnecting a USB or SATA device.
Maximum Efficiency
Since each USB and eSATA port commands a dedicated PCIe lane, card-level throughput of up to 2,000MB/s can be achieved, up to 500MB/s per each port. And the eSATA ports support port multiplication, allowing you to connect multiple eSATA devices through a single port.

For applications in servers or other specialized computers where space is limited, the MAXPower USB/eSATA 2x2 features a removable bracket design to fit into low profiles machines. The small size accommodates most Mac and PC workstations. Using less power than most PCIe cards, the MAXPower has been designed to run faster and cooler than other cards on the market.

All MAXPower products are designed with superior quality components for long life reliability and the USB/eSATA 2x2 card is no exception. Every component from the card to the cables has been tested to ensure optimum performance.


Important Note: Apple OS X Sleep is not supported with this card. Sleep should be disabled when using devices with this card. The computer's screen will turn off, but the computer will not actually enter a sleep state with the card installed.

Features

  • PCI Express 2.0 x4
  • Two USB 3.0 ports with Type A connectors (female)
  • Two 6Gb/s eSATA Ports
  • 20Gb/s transfer bandwidth
  • Optimized for all USB 3.0 & eSATA storage devices
  • Backwards compatible with USB 2.0 & 1.1, and eSATA 3Gb/s
  • Hot-Swap and Hot-Plug

Product Specifications

NewerTech Part Number

  • MXPCIEL2ESU3

Hardware Requirements

  • Intel-based Mac with available PCI Express 2.0 x4 lane slot
  • Backwards compatible with PCI Express 1.0a at reduced speeds*

Form Factor

  • Full-height, half-length

Operating System Support

  • OS X 10.6 - 10.8.2

Data Transfer Rate

  • USB 3.0: up to 500MB/s per port
  • eSATA: up to 500MB/s per port
  • Up to 20Gb/s total card bandwidth.
    Dedicated per port performance architecture fully utilizes the PCIe 2.0 x4 bandwidth

Bootable

  • Via USB 3.0: No
  • Via eSATA: No

External Connectivity

  • x2 USB 3.0 Type A ports
  • x2 eSATA 6Gb/s ports

Internal Connectivity

  • none

Port Multiplication

  • Via USB 3.0: No
  • Via eSATA: Yes

SuperSpeed USB 3.0

  • Supports all USB communication speed data rate of Low-speed (1.5 Mbps) / Full-speed (12 Mbps) / High-speed (480 Mbps) / SuperSpeed (5Gbps)
  • Supports all USB compliant data transfer type as follows; Control / Bulk / Interrupt
  • NOT Compatible with USB 3.0 & USB 2.0 hubs

SATA 6Gb/s

  • Compliant with Serial ATA Specification 3.0
  • Supports all SATA communication speed data rate of 6.0 Gb/s, 3.0 Gb/s, 1.5 Gb/s
  • Supports Native Command Queuing (NCQ)

Hot Swappable

  • Yes

Hot Plugable

  • Yes

Thunderbolt™ Support

  • No

Downloads

Note

  • Sleep is not supported with this Card. The computer's screen will turn off, but the computer will not actually enter a sleep state with the card installed.
  • This card is not Thunderbolt aware and cannot be used in a Thunderbolt Chasis.

Agency Approvals & Compliance

  • FCC Rules, Part 15, Class B
  • WEEE
  • CE
  • European Standard EN55022 (1998) Class B
  • European Standard EN55024 (1998)
  • RoHS Compliant

Dimensions

  • 4.72" x 4.53" x 0.75" (12.0 x 11.5 x 1.9 cm)

Weight

  • 0.43 lbs (0.19kg)

Operating Temperature

  • 0°C ~ 70°C (32°F ~ 158°F)

Non-Operating Temperature

  • -65°C~ 150°C (-85°F ~ 302°F)

Relative Humidity

  • 0% ~ 80% non condensing

Warranty

*Use of a PCIe 1.0 slot would reduce bandwidth to 1000MB/s (250MB/s per port)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Newer Technology p/n MXPCIEL2ESU3 UPC#: 816643013792
This Controller Card is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-core (Mid 2006)
(August, 2006)
Model ID: MacPro1,1
2.0GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-core (Early 2007)
(April, 2007)
Model ID: MacPro2,1
3.0GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.2GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve Quad-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve 8-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.6 / 5 58 out of 63 (92%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Beaverton, OR Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great in a Mac Pro 1,1 November 17, 2014 This is working great in my MacPro 1,1 running Lion. It was actually installed by my wife and it's driving a raid 1 box. No problems coming back from sleeping.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: new hampshire Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 I installed in an original MacPro 2006 and it worked. October 3, 2014 Out of the box, this worked fine. I installed as per the instructions, plugged in a USB 3.0 drive and it took 2 minutes to move a 6 gigabyte file... from an internal drive to the external drive. The move between two internal drives was about 1 minute. There is one small bug: there is no icon to disconnect the drive so when you pull it, you get the nasty gram..... copying the same folder over USB 2 was about 5 minutes....

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Toronto, ON Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works with Drobo 5D September 29, 2014 Bought this card for my 2008 Mac Pro because I needed a USB 3.0 card for my Drobo 5D. Works fine, though I had to have Drobo Robotics send me a new (USB 3-compatible USB cable). The performance is better than the original Drobo at Firewire 800.

I have not tried the eSATA ports, and probably never will. Unfortunately OWC doesn't sell an expansion card with USB 3 only.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech MAXPower 2x2 USB + eSATA 6G PCIe Expansion Card.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Seattle Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 Product worked perfectly. September 20, 2014 Great to have USB 3.0 on my 2009 Mac Pro. It works perfectly. Had an issue in downloading software but switched to Safari and it downloaded and installed with no problem. OWC tech was very helpful. Totally happy with the product and OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sydney, Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Rock solid! September 8, 2014 After years of using other controllers that were four times the price and having them burn out or be infuriating to install and get working, I tried this controller. WOW! I was up and running in 5 mins. This card even recognised my existing RAID 5 array built with a different controller and mounted it and I was ready to go. Didn't even have to rebuild. How awesome is that? The card is super fast, the NewerTech website is easy to navigate and find product information and updates, the support is brilliant and there's a 3 year warranty. What more do you want? As a professional filmmaker and video editor I have tried cards from HighPoint, Adaptec and ATTO. All expensive and in the case of HighPoint, over-engineered, painful and no customer support. This controller gives me a consistent ~750MB/s using RAID 5 on an 8 drive PROAVIO enclosure - and these are 5 year old SATA III WD RE2's! Not even SATA 6! ADOBE Premiere CC and After Effects CC sing on this card.Never dropping a frame and giving you beautiful smooth playback, even with a fully loaded timeline and all app's open.

I also have many RAID chassis and arrays like 2 of the OWC RackPro Units and a two drive Mercury Elite and I keep coming back to OWC as they just work like they should. OWC are the only brand that have never failed in my studio. NEVER. Not once. Everything else has, costing me time, money and business. Try this card. You won't regret it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech MAXPower RAID Mini-SAS 6G 6G-2e PCIe Expansion Card.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great August 5, 2014 Great Product, No issues.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Jackson, MS Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works Great! June 10, 2014 This works great! Added USB 3 and eSata to my MAC pro. Just make sure you install the drivers too. Didn't work with out drivers. Now I just wish they would make a Thunderbolt 2 card!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Yorkshire UK Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Hope they get the OSx boot control soon for this May 24, 2014 Easy to install on my Mac Pro 1.1. And am now running the raid 0 with 4 X SSD 480Gb's. In the beginning, 3 weeks or so it kept loosing the Array from my desktop but now no problems. It is if my Mac has accepted it as one of the family now. If it could at some time in the future be able to handle the OSx boot system then WOW it would be worth double the money for MacPro 1.1 owners like me who just refuse to retire the old architecture after improving it over the years. I also have place most of the applications in the raid array together with movies and music and documents. Very quick. Regards, SFR

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech MAXPower RAID Mini-SAS 6G-1e1i PCIe Expansion Card.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Illinois Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Very fast May 17, 2014 I bought this card to speedup external HD interface. It's very fast and was very simple to install in my Mac Pro. I didn't realize I couldn't boot my computer through this card although the product description says so (my error). Otherwise I'm completely satisfied with the card and thrilled at how fast eSATA transfers data between my Mac and external drives.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Astoria, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Host Adapter Works in 2008 Mac Pro May 2, 2014 Both USB 3.0 and SATA III functional well via this host adapter. Performance is in the expected range for USB 3.0 devices--200MB/sec read and write for Fantom 3TB external "Green Drive." SanDisk Extreme 64GB 182.4 MB/s Write; 256.2 MB/s Read. [Blackmagicdesign Disk Speed Test] No measurements for SATA drive. Similar (slightly slower) speeds with an Anker 10 port USB 3.0 hub.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech MAXPower 2x2 USB + eSATA 6G PCIe Expansion Card.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Noblesville IN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great addition to Mac Pro August 6, 2013 I added this card and love the additional speed of the 2 eSATA ports. I followed the video instructions you can find on this site, and it was really rather easy to install, even though I am not mechanically inclined. I pair it with the Mercury Pro 4TB external HD to clone my old library, and then use TimeMachine for only my new and current photography.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech MAXPower eSATA 6G Pro PCIe Expansion Card with 2 x eSATA 6G Ports.

Reviewer: billw Location: WA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Great card for the price August 5, 2011 I'm not often inclined to write reviews, but I had a hard time finding much information on this card when I considered buying it.

I already had the non-RAID version of this card, which gave me two eSATA ports, but not with port-multiplier support. I was looking for at least two more ports that I could use with my Cavalry 4 x 1TB enclosure and a future enclosure. Every card that I considered in the <$300 category had a range of limitations. This card appeared to have good throughput, support for drive power management, and RAID was a nice touch for the price.

Overall, I am quite pleased with it, but I did note some difficulties along the way. I installed this card in my 2009 Mac Pro, then booted up and installed the software on the included disk. After a reboot, that gave me access to the web interface. The web interface is pretty simple, although not always intuitive. After a few stumbles, I got my external enclosure set up with RAID 5. It took about 24 hours to initialize.

Before I got to that point, I had some difficulties. I am running Lion, so that may be a contributing factor. After I set the web interface to initialize the new array, OS X panicked. On reboot, it panicked again, so that I was unable to boot the machine. Powering down the enclosure fixed that problem. I then went to the Newertech web site and downloaded and installed the latest software. After that, I was able to reboot, turn on the enclosure, and the array proceeded to build without further incident. So, I recommend getting the latest and greatest from Newertech's site before trying to build an array.

Once the array was built, OS X didn't see it. I thought that I might power off the enclosure and power it back on to get the system to recognize the new drive. That not only didn't work, but it triggered a very loud alarm buzzer that took me several minutes to figure out how to turn off. It turned out that I just needed to reboot to get OS X to see the new drive.

I initialized it in the Disk Utility and proceeded to copy about 1 TB of stuff to the drive. I didn't run any benchmarks, but the transfer speed was indistinguishable from my internal SATA drives and much, much better than over the USB interface I had previously used.

Anyway, so far, so good.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech MAXPower 2-Port eSATA 6G PCIe Expansion Card.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: dandeliondigital Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Get it! March 14, 2011 I purchased the NewerTech MAXPower 6G PCIe eSATA RAID Controller card with port multiplier support, and am glad I did. Now I can hook up eSATA drives easily to my 2008 MacPro. Installation is a snap, and no drivers to install. It simply works. If you couple this with the NewerTech Voyager Q- Quad Interface FireWire 800/400/USB 2.0/eSATA - SATA I/II Hard Drive Docking Solution, You have the Easiest Way To Access Data From ANY 2.5" or 3.5" Serial ATA (SATA) Hard Drive Up To 2.0TB!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech MAXPower 2-Port eSATA 6G PCIe Expansion Card.

NewerTech MAXPower USB/eSATA 2x2 Host Adapter for OS X 10.6 - 10.8.2 Mfr P/N: MXPCIEL2ESU3 OWC SKU: NWTMXPCIEL2ESU3 3 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty
Sold Out
Additional Options: With USB 3.2 (5Gb/s) Ports
  • 4 x USB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $49.99
    • CyberSaver $24.00