Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs » OWC Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solutions for MacBook Air (2013 - 2017), MacBook Pro w/ Retina (2013 - 2015)

OWC Special Offers Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29
$29.88 off Black Friday BACKUP BONUS - Buy any Aura Pro X2 or Aura N SSD Upgrade Kit (500GB or larger), get BONUS SAVINGS on a OWC Express External Drive!
Click Here for qualifying items

OWC

Aura Pro X2
480GB NVMe SSD Upgrade Solution
for MacBook Pro w/ Retina Display (Late 2013 - Mid 2015) and MacBook Air (Mid 2013 -Mid 2017)

Mac
Complete Internal Flash/SSD Drive Upgrade Kit with Tools & OWC Envoy Pro Enclosure
Your Mac. More Space. Twice as Fast.
Keep On Innovating
Tight deadlines, long nights, and terabytes of media – your Mac has been with you through it all. If storage is tight, there's no reason to ditch the Mac you know and love. The Aura® Pro X2 SSD gives you up to 16 times more space and the speed to keep up with your imagination today and tomorrow. Upgrade your Mac with Aura Pro X2 SSD for a fraction of the cost of a new model and keep your Mac running for years.
Blazing Fast and Super Cool
Aura Pro X2 combines speed, stamina, and efficiency that will change the way you experience your Mac. With read speeds reaching 3282MB/s and write speeds of 2432MB/s, the 480GB Aura Pro X2 is up to twice as fast as the original SSDs, delivering performance on par with the latest models. It runs cooler and consumes less power than earlier SSD models, so you can run at peak for longer than ever.
Maintain Your Edge
When it's go time, getting off the line and maintaining a high level of performance are equally important. Aura Pro X2 is engineered with advanced SLC caching, providing instant full-speed write acceleration, meaning those media projects and games stream fluidly and respond without lag time. You might even forget what that beachball looks like.
Continuous Compatibility
Aura Pro X2 is designed for the latest macOS versions (macOS High Sierra 10.13 and later), taking full advantage of the advanced features of APFS including: strong encryption, copy-on-write metadata, space sharing, cloning for files and directories, snapshots, fast directory sizing, atomic safe-save primitives, and improved file system fundamentals.
Right-Sized for Work and Play
The smaller stock SSDs for Mac can fill up quickly, especially with photo and video files, games, or even your email. Aura Pro X2 SSDs are available in capacities up to 2TB, giving you more space to work and play. Newly calibrated to use less power and run cooler, Aura Pro X2 is the best way to upgrade your PCIe equipped Mac.
No Hassles or Hacks Compatibility
Aura Pro X2 PCIe-based flash storage upgrades are precisely engineered for your Mac laptop, so you'll never need to compromise your data by relying on complicated software hacks or TRIM-enablers to get the most from your upgrade. Just install, migrate your data, and enjoy the great performance of flash storage with up to 16 times the capacity of the factory-installed drive.
High-Performance + High-Style
Your upgrade should be a seamless experience. That's why Aura Pro X2 SSD upgrade kits come with Envoy Pro, the beautifully designed, high-performance SSD enclosure to reimagine your original PCIe-based flash drive.

When you remove your original flash SSD, it fits perfectly into Envoy Pro so you can transfer all your data to the new Aura Pro X2 inside your laptop. Once the file transfer is complete, enjoy using your Mac's original flash SSD as a fast, external USB drive with transfer speeds up to 426MB/s.
7% Over Provisioning
OWC SSDs perform maintenance tasks in the background that optimize the health, performance, and endurance of your flash drive. These jobs take advantage of available, unwritten areas on the SSD. Aura Pro X2 PCIe-based flash storage reserves 7% of the overall capacity as free space. Always. With this allocated free space, Aura SSDs can perform these normal maintenance tasks making your drive more stable, dependable, and ultimately a safer place to store your data.
Quality That Lasts
Aura Pro X2 SSDs are proudly designed in Austin and are backed by a lifetime of free, award-winning USA-based support.
Important Note: The OWC Envoy Pro enclosure has been specifically designed for use ONLY with select Apple Flash SSDs from most 2013 to 2015 Mac models. Do NOT attempt to install or use an OWC Aura, Aura Pro, Aura Pro X or Aura Pro X2 SSD in the Envoy Pro as you can damage the OWC SSD, enclosure, or both. Such damage is not covered under warranty.

Please Note: The OWC Envoy Pro enclosure is not compatible with stock Apple Toshiba drives. Please see the Knowledge Base article on Envoy Pro (PCIe): Apple Stock Drive Compatibility for further details.

480GB Aura Pro X2 SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Silicon Motion SM2262EN Series Processor with 7% over-provisioning
NAND
3D TLC Synchronous NAND Flash
Form Factor
Custom blade
Interface
PCIe 3.1 x4, NVMe 1.3
Capacity
480GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components: 512GB
32 GB Allocated to real-time data redundancy and error correction
Formatted Capacity
447GiB
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCS3DAPT4MB05
OS Requirements
macOS 10.13 High Sierra or later
Host Requirements
Must upgrade to macOS 10.13 or later, prior to installation
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
2.6mm (0.102″)
Width (max)
22.0mm (0.866″)
Length (max)
89.0mm (3.504″)
Weight
8.0g (0.28oz)

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
1,500,000
Data Reliability
ECC Recovery
Endurance
225TB total bytes written (TBW)
TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Performance

Average Access Time
<0.1 ms
Sequential Read (Max)
up to 3282MB/s
Sequential Write (Max)
up to 2432MB/s

Power

Read Power
5.7 W
Write Power
5.7 W
Seek Power
5.7 W
Idle Power
0.3 W

Environmental (Operating)

Relative Humidity (non-condensing)
5% to 95%
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1500G / 0.5ms
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels

Notes

  • 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  • In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity if shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  • The Aura Pro X2 is a high performance PCIe 3.1 x4 NVMe SSD capable of performing in excess of 3000MB/s in Macs with PCIe3.0 x4 SSD slot. Performance can vary depending on many factors, including the Mac model and its drive bus specifications. Please check the compatibility section and the detailed specs for your Mac model's drive bus specifications.
  • Sequential read/write (max) performance numbers are based on testing with AJA System Test (4K-Full resolution, 64GB file size, 16bit RGBA codec, file per frame test) on a Mid 2015 MacBook Pro (MacBookPro11,4).
  • Not compatible with Apple Boot Camp on MacBookPro11,1 or MacBookAir6,1 or MacBookAir6,2.
  • When upgrading from an AHCI SSD used in some older Mac models (2013-2014), you may observe a slight increase in boot times. Read the Knowledge Base article to learn more.


Envoy Pro Specifications:

Software Requirements

  • OS
    • OS X 10.3 or later
    • Windows XP or later
    • Linux OS with support for USB 3.0
  • Driver
    • Driver not required

Hardware Requirements

  • Mac or PC featuring USB 3.0 interface

Bootability

  • Any Mac that supports booting via USB

Interface (Chipset)

  • (1) USB 3.0 Micro-B (PLX USB 3380)

Performance

  • Up to 500 MB/s Read and Write
  • Note(s)
    • Speeds will vary based on drives used, setup, and other factors.

Power

  • Operation
    • Bus-powered via USB port
  • Note(s)
    • Requires USB 3.0 standard powered port. USB 2.0 use not supported or recommended.

Environment

  • Environmental (Operating)
    • Altitude -304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
  • Environmental (Non-Operating)
    • Ambient Temperature Non-Operating: 41°F to 104°F (5°C to 40°C)
    • Altitude -304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)

Dimensions

  • Height: 0.4 in (1.0 cm)
  • Width: 2.1 in (5.3 cm)
  • Length: 4.5 in (11.4 cm)

Weight (without drive)

  • 3.4 oz (96.4 g)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n S3DAPT4MB05K UPC#: 810586032025

Gallery

Note: Click here for details on macOS Sleep- and Standby-related behaviors.
This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina display Mid 2015)
(May, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,5
2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina display Mid 2015)
(May, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,4
2.2GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina display Early 2015)
(March, 2015)
Model ID: MacBookPro12,1
2.7GHz, 2.9GHz, 3.1GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2014)
(July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,3
2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2014)
(July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,2
2.2GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2014)
(July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,1
2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(October, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,3
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2013)
(October, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,2
2.0GHz, 2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2013)
(October, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,2
1.8GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Early 2015)
(March 2015)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,2
1.6GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Early 2015)
(March 2015)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,1
1.6GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Early 2014)
(April, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,2
1.4GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Early 2014)
(April, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,1
1.4GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2013)
(June, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,2
1.3GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (11-inch Mid 2013)
(June, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,1
1.3GHz, 1.7GHz

Includes

  • (1) Aura Pro X2 SSD
  • (1) Tools
  • (1) Envoy Pro Enclosure
  • (1) USB 3.1 Gen 1 (Type-A to Micro-B cable)
  • (1) Envoy Pro Carrying Case
  • (1) Envoy Pro User Guide
  • (1) Installation Guide for MacBook Air (Mid-2013 - 2017), MacBook Pro (Retina, Late 2013 - Mid 2015)

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 5 / 5 6 out of 6 (100%) reviewers would recommend this product
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JoshM Location: Trinidad, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 1/5 Terrible Customer Service after being sold incompatible device October 16, 2020 This is a first negative review of OWC for me, after using many of their products over the years. I purchased the 1.0TB AuraX2 SSD to upgrade my MacBook Pro 12,1 (Early 2015) and planned to put my current Apple 500GB SSD into the Envoy Pro enclosure. Bottom line... the SSD is not compatible, despite it being listed as so to this very day. The Apple SSD is physically compatible, and works for a period of time before the disk being unmountable. After suffering this 4-5 times I contacted them to find out what was going on. They have thus far refused to offer me an alternative solution that will work with my Apple SSD as claimed.

This review is from 1.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Response from MacSales.com, CESSM October 20, 2020 Thank you for choosing OWC for your technical needs. As noted on all of our product pages, there are certain incompatibilities with the Envoy enclosure and the stock Apple drive. You can read details on this here: https://eshop.macsales.com/Service/Knowledgebase/Article/26/788/Envoy-Pro-PCIe-Apple-SSD-Compatibility I do see here that on 10/14/2020, a refund RMA was set up for you to send that enclosure in for refund, since the drive is one considered incompatible. If you have any questions please contact us via one of the following methods: Phone 1-800-275-4576 or +1-815-338-8685 Customer Service/Sales & Technical Support - Monday-Friday (8am-8pm CT) - Saturday & Sunday (Closed) Live Chat Technical Support - Monday-Friday (8am-8pm CT) - Saturday (9am-5pm CT) - Sunday (Closed) Live Chat Customer Service/Sales - Monday-Friday (7am-10pm CT) - Saturday & Sunday (9am-5pm CT)
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Knight55 Location: Chicago Suburb Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Fast Drive That Uses More Power Then OEM October 12, 2020 I purchased this hard drive for a late 2013 MacBook Pro 15 inch. I was able to install it and transfer the OS from the old hard drive to the new hard drive without any issues. I noticed the following two things about this drive after using it for a few days: it is about twice as fast as the original drive and it uses significantly more power then the original drive. If you care about having a longer battery life then I recommend that you purchase the Aura N hard drive as it uses significantly less power and is slightly faster then the original hard drive. If you never use your laptop on battery power then this is a good choice for you. I returned this drive and purchased the Aura N, because it is more suitable for my laptop and my needs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RetiredDoc Location: Coral Springs, Fl Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 I wish I had done this upgrade earlier August 30, 2020 I was running low on memory for my 1 TB hard drive on my Mac book Pro and started getting errors when things could not get processed when the activity was memory intensive. I received this drive a few days after I ordered it and it took about 1/2 hour to install. The video instructions were not identical but was close enough to make it easy. The memory errors are gone and the mac book is faster.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jake733 Location: British Columbia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product and service. August 26, 2020 I bought two, one each for my wife’s laptop and mine. I wasn’t sure how to disconnect the battery, as it didn’t have the same appearance as anything in the instructions. A call to OWC solver the problem and replacing the old drive was extremely easy. Everything works perfectly and much faster now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jomo Location: San Francisco Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works great August 24, 2020 Straightforward installation. I upgraded my Early 2015 MBP from 500 GB to 2 TB. Works perfectly!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: nothingnatural
Rating: 4/5 easy install; odd restart issue August 21, 2020 this was a cinch to install. however: there is an ongoing issue since installation of my mbp double-restarting if allowed to sleep when left unplugged. this is a known issue; there is no solution at this time, as i understand it. for me, it's no big deal- i stay at a desk most of the time and otherwise make sure to plug in when i'm done working away from my desk. it's a strange thing, but not the end of the world... and worth it for the extra speed and space, imo.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ButtDumper
Rating: 5/5 This thing Rules -> 2013 Macbook Air is like new August 13, 2020 No Joke, everything runs amazing again and I don't have to worry about running out of space anymore. Do this instead of upgrading first, you won't be disappointed. MBA 2013 stayed on Mojave 10,14.6 and installed Adobe Suite again. Runs like a champ and def improved battery life.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Genius Location: Virginia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding Performance! August 4, 2020 The drive is simply amazing and worth the investment. If you are thinking about purchasing the drive, don't hesitate anymore because it is worth the investment and performance. My MacBook performs better than before with at least a 50% increase in performance. Thank you OWC for an outstanding product because it exceeded my expectations!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: stormymac Location: Wytheville, Va Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Flawless August 2, 2020 OWC couldn’t have made it easier to upgrade the hard drive in my mom’s 2015 MacBook Pro. Excellent videos and instructions. Also the hard drive is faster so that’s a plus, but really just needed the extra capacity. Have always been happy with OWC products.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RodBar Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 All is fine July 31, 2020 Well, I'm amazed how the old ssd in the new case has been never used. My MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch, Early 2015) works well. Since the disk change it has had less than one hand finger hardware crashes that I haven't saw before, but at the same time the laptop has been lot more stressed usage with the new ssd. Because I can't tell all is perfect from ssd switch 4 stars.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: shop Location: Midwest Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 3/5 Works, but has a bug July 6, 2020 Installation is easy and flawless, but there is unfortunately a bug, of sorts, that causes your Macbook to reboot twice after it enters hibernation. The OWC fix for this is to disable hibernate, which seems to work, but is not a real fix. Otherwise, the fit and finish and suitability to a particular purpose of this product is perfect.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SpeedySSD Location: Washington, DC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Speedy drive and relatively easy transfer July 6, 2020 I upgraded my 2013 MacBook Air's base hard drive to get additional storage space and faster speeds for virtual memory, and this drive delivered. The kit arrived quickly and the transition process was relatively simple. Physical installation is very easy, and data migration was easy enough once I found the right resources. Part of the complexity is due to security features like FileVault, but it also took a little while for me to find the right resources on Apple and OWC's website. The only (very minor) improvement I could see is OWC including a QR code or short link to relevant knowledge base articles on the product packaging.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: rktheac
Rating: 5/5 Faster than stock SSD July 5, 2020 I replaced the battery on my Late 2013 15" MacBook Pro and took that opportunity to replace the stock SSD. The process of installing the SSD was easy and the tools that came with the kit made it straightforward.

The Aura Pro is indeed much faster than the stock SSD. Combined with the fact that my machine breathes better with the new battery (the old swollen battery apparently blocked the intake vents), my machine runs cooler, quieter, and faster than before.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: fixitjc Location: Jim Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Larger Storage easy fix July 5, 2020 This storage solution brought new life to client's machine. and the external case made data transfer simple while providing external storage for future use. Make sure you follow the directions

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MikeMacuser Location: TEXAS Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect upgrade July 4, 2020 Increased speed and storage in MacBook Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Liborius Location: NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Nothing than high praise July 3, 2020 I have obtained this kit to upgrade the 2017 MacBook Air. The entire process was smooth and without any hiccups - from purchasing and delivery to installation and software merge. I am planning to get one more (drive only) for another MacBook Air (2015) we have. Definitely performance upgrade worth the cost and effort.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: aehsmu Location: Minnesota Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Why did I wait so long?! May 21, 2020 My 5+ year old MBP came installed with a 1TB SSD/PCI drive. I thought it would never fill up. But, I'm a composer who uses Logic Pro, Reason, Ableton, and other software with samples that take up A LOT of space.

I ordered the 2 TB Aura Pro X2 SSD on Wed. Thursday morning FedEx dropped off my box.

The install video and the tools I purchased with the upgrade kit were perfect.

Installation took less than 30 minutes.

TimeMachine backup restored the new drive in about 3 hours and now the 1TB is connected via USB in Envoy enclosure.

And everything just works.

Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Stans555 Location: Perryville, MO Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Drive April 18, 2020 I received this drive yesterday, 04-17-2020 via second day shipping. I had made a fresh backup of my 1 tb MacBook Pro SSD drive. I downloaded a current copy of Mac OS Catalina on a bootable USB. I wish instructions for making a bootable USB would have been included with the drive or at least a link. The enclosed kit contained all the tools necessary to disassemble, remove and install the new 2 Tb SSD. After removing the old SSD and installing the new 2 Tb model, I installed the old 1 tb SSD in the included kit enclosure. I rebooted my MacBook Pro using the USB drive and loaded iOS Catalina on my new SSD. I then restarted my MacBook and used time machine to install all my files and programs. Everything worked great, even my Parallels Desktop for Windows 10. I had thought about purchasing a new MacBook but the new models have less USB ports and SD card slots. This SSD solves my problem of more storage and the drive is just a fast as the old one, although it seems faster. I purchased my MacBook Pro in 2015 with a 1Tb SSD and 16 gb of memory. It runs just as well now as it did when it was brand new. I would highly recommend this SSD if you need more internal storage.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Henryt321 Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast and Reliable April 17, 2020 I really needed and upgrade since I bought a base model Macbook Pro 2015 with only 128GB for storage. I purchased the 480GB from here and it worked great. I had an issue with setting it up at first, but I called and had really nice people help me with the process. Overall, I would buy from here again. I haven't actually benchmarked the SSD, but the OS has been less "laggy" as well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: exMac512kpoweruser Location: Melbourne, Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Product, Great Service! March 17, 2020 I bought my MacBook Pro back in 2014, the most recent of a string of 3 Macbook Pro laptops, and one of the last of the good ones. (Thanks LRossman). Given it is a work machine, and I wanted longevity out of it, I maxed out the memory (It is soldered in), but could only then afford a tiny 256Gb SSD for storage. It was my intention to upgrade this later, and so for quite a few years I kept an eye on OWC, until last week, with a need to dual boot the machine, I finally bit the bullet and bought this drive.

It arrived in good time, however took some damage in transit, which required a return to be processed, after running some troubleshooting, and indicating my looming need, the staff at MacSales had a replacement drive on my doorstep within 3 days, which with me living in Australia, was amazing.

I got it installed and migrated my original data, and could not be happier with the result. The drive is huge, I can finally get all my music onto the system partition, and get rid of the microSD I had sitting in the SD slot, as well as split off a partition to give me access to a Windows box on the go. It is a work box, so I haven't even attempted to assess the speed of the drive, but I have not noticed any deficit in storage related functions.

So well done guys, this is a great product, backed by excellent support, . holding up the quality of the MacIntosh line that Apple seems to have let slip recently, you have given my old machine the legs to march on for another 6+ years.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacUser101 Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy install and fast! February 13, 2020 This installation took less than 15 minutes and after reinstalling the OS and Time Machine, this drive performs fabulously!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: EliPer Location: Kirkland, WA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works great! No hassles! February 7, 2020 I purchased the 1T SSD to upgrade the 256Gb on my MacBook Pro 13" Retina (early 2015). I researched prices of a new one vs. how much I would get for mine and what would I need to do if I wanted to upgrade the storage space. I came across OWC and went for the upgrade kit. It was indeed very straightforward to install and the enclosure not only works perfectly as a portable HD but it also looks like it's a Mac product with aluminum finish. I installed the new SSD in my Mac, installed the original HD in the enclosure, connected the enclosure, booted my Mac holding Command + R, went into Disk Utility, formatted the SSD in my Mac, installed a fresh Mac OS, used Data Migration assistant, made sure everything was in there, formatted the SSD in the enclosure and Voila! I now have 1Tb internal + 256Gb on a portable HD! I cannot speak for speed increase since I haven't used it for editing yet.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Dunfor Location: Ocean, NJ Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy 1 TB Upgrade January 25, 2020 I have been using OWC for years. Kept my 2011 iMAC and MBP current with ease. I just got a 2015 13 MBP for a steal, but it had only 128GB. Now with 1 TB, I have a great on the go machine that can do everything I need it to do.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Chilly3Willy Location: West palm beach, FL Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Really happy with my purchase November 9, 2019 The drive arrived fast.. i am really happy with the purchase

Here is a walkthrough of my installation process. (a bit different from the information given)

I received my drive..opened the mac and installed the new drive

I attached the Original Drive that was inside the mac to the enclosure that came with the package..

I held option while booting up the mac. And booted the computer from the drive in the enclosure. (The original drive)

I logged in from the original drive (in the enclosure) and formatted the internal drive (which is the new drive i received and installed) in APFS format.

I Rebooted and held Command + Option + R

I installed mac os catalina on the New drive (internal)

Used Migration assistant to transfer the information from the old drive (now in the enclosure) and transferred my info to the new drive (internal)

Now living happily with more space and a faster drive.

thank you guys!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Scattershooter Location: Brookhaven in the Pines, Texas
Rating: 5/5 Super Easy Switch out of Replacement SSD October 31, 2019 I was running out of room in my 128GB MacBook Air, so I purchased the 480GB SSD with an enclosure. I can't believe how easy the replacing the SSD is accomplished. OWC's instructions were spot on. Unpacking the 480GB I immediately noticed the quality of the included enclosure to house the SSD taken out of my Mac.

But hang on. There was one more instruction in the package to follow after switching out the SSDs. That is to restart holding down Cmd/Option R and follow the instructions. I do so, Mac OS Catalina was downloaded, my data was migrated to my new SSD and I started to use the new SSD. Now I even have a 128GB traveling SSD in it's included velvet pouch. Talk about easy.

I have used MacSales for years and as usual, they did not disappoint.

Thanks

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Reviewer: Quebecois1978 Location: Western MA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Love the additional HD space and speed October 7, 2019 While I didn't run any official benchmarks, I am running a 2015 15" MBP (11,4) which had a 500MGB HD busting at the seams. Since upgrading to the 2TB Aura Pro X2, I've noticed a definite increase in speed -- most notable with Lightroom 6.14, but also with most other applications including MS Office and iTunes -- while running MacOS Mojave. Whether the perceived increased in speed is from HD characteristics or from having more free space on the drive, I cannot say. Upgrade was a breeze, I followed the online video, used the included tools and external SSD enclosure, and restored my system via Time Machine. No issues so far running over one month, and couldn't be happier with my purchase. My only gripe would be the cost, but wanting to keep my current machine at least a few more years, it's still less than 20% what I would have paid for a new MBP that fits my needs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Doug61 Location: Delaware, Ohio Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 These guys are the best!!! September 12, 2019 I have never purchased an Apple product before the one I have now, and I will never purchase accessories from any supplier other than Other World Computing. The professional I talked with (Dan T) before I upgraded my SSD was awesome! Answered all my questions (completely), was patient with a very high degree of expertise. Highly recommend these guys

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: tishanth24 Location: Lugano, Switzerland Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Wow! September 12, 2019 Noticed the difference between the original Apple SSD and the new OWC Aura X2, it's really WOW! Maybe the international shipping could have been faster.. but it was not a big problem :)

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LordConrad Location: Jupiter, FL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 An Excellent Upgrade August 17, 2019 The Aura Pro X2 is a great high-speed SSD upgrade for 2013-2015 MacBook Pro computers. It's a bit pricey, but not unexpected considering the proprietary nature of Apple hardware.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Caligula Location: Atlanta Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Exceeded Expectations! August 3, 2019 Upgraded a 13" 120 GB mid-2014 Macbook Pro w/Retina to the 480 GB (w/kit). Here's a summary of my experience: - Purchase and receipt process standard. - Installation videos very straightforward and informative. Installation took me ~6 minutes (including kit assembly of the removed drive). - Had a little issue getting an OS on the new drive (no disk/drive option for the wi-fi download appeared) and I didn't know how to partition the drive ... so I transitioned via Time Machine. - I then updated the OS (I couldn't before due to lack of disk space) along with all apps. She's working like a charm ... all calculations of disk space are in alignment with what I expected/hoped for going in. Here's the real kicker (and I would not have believed it until I saw it): My Write and Read speeds have increased wildly! Before the drive upgrade (and using BlackMagic Disk Speed Test for pre and post-upgrade testing), I averaged 181-215 Write speed. That now averages between 1,250-1,325! For Reading, pre-upgrade averaged 535-555. Now, Read speeds are between 1,476-1,500.

Good times ...

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SRWinTech Location: Santa Rosa, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Beware of the HSierra/Mojave on the current HD requirement July 29, 2019 I bought this upgrade a couple of weeks ago for my Late 2013 MBP15 and finally got to doing the upgrade over the weekend. Upon opening the box, I read the Important Notice included stating that the machine to be upgraded needed to already have High Sierra or later. I wanted to preserve Yosemite for the legacy Apps I can't replace on the factory HD, so thought I was not going to be able to do the swap. I came up with a workaround. What was done: I attached a spare 2.5" Int SSD I had onto a Thunderbolt to SATA dock, installed High Sierra to it via a bootable Installer USB. The install upgraded the EFI. I then checked that it booted and verified my Yosemite on the internal HD remaining intact. Replaced the internal HD with the Aura, booted to the recovery process for a bare metal install of Mojave via the internet. All is working Beautifully. I would have given 5 stars, but the requirement notice was not originally on the website(or not noticeable) when I bought. Now it is. Only a experienced tech could and/or would of done it my way...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JJSpelman Location: Tampa, FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Perfect Upgrade July 10, 2019 Was able to upgrade my daughter's MacBook air to a 480GB SSD hard drive easily. Had a support question and OWC was there for us.

Even get to keep the old hard drive as an external with the handy case that is included! Very cool, and sustainable! We are not adding to the trash this way.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Vicki Location: Morgantown, WV Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product & support June 23, 2019 Fantastic install instructions and video - follow them! Best procedure is to use Mac's Time Machine for backup and restore. Had 1 problem - Mail tried to restore my emails but failed & gave a message that I needed more space on my home drive. It took a while but I found a link that said to use the Mac Disk Utility (in Utilities folder) to solve a permissions problem. Click on the system drive (mine is Macintosh HD) then, at the top, click on First Aid. When it finished I reopened Mail & the restore completed successfully & all is well, so far. Sorry I can't give you the details since the message no longer appears! Definitely buy this upgrade kit (instead of just the blade) it has the needed screw drivers (pentagon-shaped) & enclosure so you can reuse your old drive, assuming it still works.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Reviewer: Ivandub Location: British Columbia, Canada Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works as advertised April 5, 2019 I installed this in a 13" 2017 MacBook Air yesterday. The installation was straightforward and easy enough to do. For some reason. when I tried to restore my system from a Time Machine Backup, it failed near the end of the process. I had a USB installation drive with High Sierra on it so I did a clean installation of that and it worked ok. I just have to manually transfer over some of my files now from the backup disk. I was expecting to see a performance boost due to the higher read/write speeds of this drive but it seems to be about the same as the original drive. At any rate, boot up time is about the same. However, I bought it for the additional storage space so it's nice to have that. I can't comment on the reliability of the drive as it's only been in use for a day but, so far, it's working well. I will put the old drive in another MacBook Air I have with a small 128 GB drive in it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB Aura Pro X2 SSD Upgrade Solution for Select 2013 and Later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro. Customer Videos:

OWC Aura Pro X2 480GB NVMe SSD Upgrade Solution Mfr P/N: S3DAPT4MB05K OWC SKU: OWCS3DAPT4MB05K High performance NVMe flash upgrade solution, including tools & enclosure for your factory SSD. For select 2013 and later MacBook Air & MacBook Pro 5 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $249.99Cyber Saver $209.00
Add to CartOther World Computing S3DAPT4MB05K In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $194.99
    • Bundle Priced for $169.00
  • 480GB
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $349.99
    • Bundle Priced for $299.00
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $549.99
    • OWC Price $499.00