Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Video & Display » Video Cards » PCI Express Video Cards for Mac Pro items available.

We recommend OWC Radeon RX 580 8GB Graphics Upgrade Solution for Mac Pro (2010 - 2012) (Mfr P/N: MP1012R580V) from Other World Computing for $348.99 as a suitable alternative.

Sapphire

HD 7950
Mac Edition

Mac / HDMI / mini-DisplayPort / DVI-I / PCIe
Adds compatiblity with Metal and macOS 10.14 Mojave for select Mac Pros
Throw Your Mac Into Overdrive
Breathe new life into an old Mac
The HD 7950 Mac Edition is based on AMD's latest Graphics Core Next (GCN) architecture. This highly acclaimed architecture delivers a significant graphics performance boost for Mac Pro users in a wide range of applications including gaming, audio or video editing and content creation. For example, gaming frame rates are increased by over 200%, general benchmark performance increased by around 30% and graphics intensive benchmarks increased by as much as 300% compared with the NV 8800GT commonly used in these machines.

The HD 7950 Mac Edition is compatible with Apple Mac Pro models from 2009 and later with an available PCI-Express x16 slot. Two six-pin power cables required are supplied with the card. A driver disk is provided which enables the card to be used with Mac OS X 10.7.5 (Lion), 10.8.2 (Mountain Lion) or later.

The HD 7950 Mac Edition can also be used in the latest PC architectures. It has Dual Firmware support via a simple Firmware (Dual BIOS) switch. In one position the Sapphire HD 7950 Mac Edition supports Mac OS X/Windows under non-UEFI compliant mode and in the other it supports Windows with UEFI hybrid firmware enabled. A Windows driver disk is also included.

Additionally, the HD 7950 Mac Edition is compatible with Metal, Apple's low level graphics API which is required to run macOS 10.14 Mojave. Equip your 2010 or 2012 Mac Pro with the Sapphire HD 7950 and turn your Mac into a true professional desktop, taking advantage of Mojave's new Dark Mode and updated Finder with Quick Actions. Additionally you will have acess to the new News, Stocks, and Voice Memos apps and so much more.
28 nm GCN (Graphic Core Next) Architecture
The new and 28nm GCN Architecture with more efficient process technology puts more transistors in less space, enabling a dramatic increase in Processing Power. Crank the settings, devastate your enemies and bear witness to absurdly high frame rates with AMD Radeon HD7000 series graphics card-DirectX 11 has never looked this good. Maximum setting and crazy performance shouldn't be a compromise. The AMD Radeon HD7900 Series with the new 28 nm GCN Architecture assures that it's not.
AMD HD3D Technology
Enjoy the most immersive experience possible with full support for High Definition Stereoscopic 3D, a technique that presents 2D images (movies, games, photos) in a format that creates the illusion of three-dimensional depth when using compatible 3D displays / glasses / software.
AMD Stream Technology
Accelerate the most demanding applications with AMD Stream technology and do more with your PC. AMD Stream Technology allows you to use the teraflops of compute power locked up in your graphics processer on tasks other than traditional graphics such as video encoding, at which the graphics processor is many, many times faster than using the CPU alone.
OpenGL 4.2
OpenGL 4.2 improves the GPU efficiency by improving the shader process operation and capturing GPU tessellated geometry. The process of modifying an arbitrary subset of compress texture is also simplified. The memory management in handling shaders is more efficient as well.
Dolby® TrueHD and DTSHD Master Audio™ Support
Support for copy protected, high bandwidth, 7.1 channel surround sound over HDMI. Get a fully immersive, high definition audio experience with the latest Blu-ray movies. (Requires a DVI to HDMI dongle on some models, an HD capable monitor and a Blu-ray drive)
Video Trade in
Save money by trading in your original video card! View available rebates.
From the purchase date of qualifying video card from OWC, you have 60 days to trade-in your old video card for a cash rebate!
Just fill out OWC's online rebate form or contact OWC Customer Service after you receive and install your new video card.

Product Specifications:

Sapphire Part Number

  • 100352MAC

System Requirements

  • Mac OS X 10.7.5 or later, Mac OS X 10.8.2 or later
  • macOS 10.14 compatible1
  • CD-ROM or DVD-ROM drive for installing software
  • 2 GB RAM

Ports

  • 1 x HDMI (with 3D)
  • 2 x Mini-DisplayPort
  • 1 x Dual-Link DVI-I

Resolution

  • DisplayPort: 3840x2160 maximum reoslution per display
  • Dual-link DVI: 2560x1600 maximum reoslution
  • HDMI 1.4a: 3840x2160 maximum resolution
  • Note: 3840 x 2160 resolutions require OS 10.9 or better for best performance. 4K playback support only; Does not support 4K editing.

GPU

  • 800 MHz Core Clock
  • 28 nm Chip
  • 1792 x Stream Processors

Video Memory

  • 3072 MB Size
  • 384 -bit GDDR5
  • 5000 MHz Effective

Dimensions

  • Height: 11.0 cm (4.3 in)
  • Length: 27.9 cm (11.0 in)
  • Width: 3.5 cm (1.4 in)
1. Requires a Mac Pro (Mid 2010) or Mac Pro (Mid 2012). Manufacturer provided specifications for Sapphire p/n 100352MAC UPC#: 840777060742

Gallery

A note on macOS 10.14 Mojave Compatibility: This card provides compatibilty with macOS 10.14 Mojave for Mac Pro (Mid 2010) and Mac Pro (Mid 2012) only. For additional information, please see Apple's support document.
This card is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Mid 2010 Quad-Core)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 6-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 12-Core
(Mid 2010-2012)
(July, 2010 / June 2012)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.40GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 Quad-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 8-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz

Benchmarks

2010/2012 Mac Pro GPU Shootout - Photoshop Sharpen Time in Seconds (Lower is Better) Included Items

2009 Mac Pro GPU Shootout - Photoshop Sharpen Time in Seconds (Lower is Better) Included Items

Further performance testing in our Rocket Yard article has revealed a big performance boost on previous generation Mac Pros with this card and a quick comparisson summary can be found here.

Includes

Included Items
  • Video Card
  • DVI to VGA Adapter
  • Mini DP to DP Adapter
  • Two 6 pin power cables
  • User Manual

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.5 / 5 57 out of 61 (93%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Ramon, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 awesome replacement video card June 12, 2015 My original OEM card died and I heard about this one from my father. All I can say this card is awesome. It is so quiet compared to my old one. I cannot even hear the fans. Video speed and quality are excellent. I would recommend this card to anyone that needs to replace or wants a significant upgrade to their mac pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago, IL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 One last breath of life for my MacPro April 1, 2015 Apple killed the MacPro line with that ridiculous cylinder shaped monstrosity. I keep hoping that they will come to their senses, but in the meantime I continue to squeeze life out of my 2009 Mac Pro Tower with upgrades from OWC.

In addition to OS X which I use for my primary computing, I use bootcamp to boot into Windows 7 64 bit for PC gaming. That is where this review starts to get relevant. Even though I have plenty of RAM and an SSD drive, I was not getting the high frame rates I needed for smooth play of TitanFall because my video card was a few years old.

I was delighted to find the Sapphire HD 7950 would work in my aging Mac and that it would natively support OS X and Windows. This convenience cost a significant amount over a Windows only version that "might" work, but I wanted my Mac to stay Mac like. The cost was also offset by the generous rebate offered by OWC for my old video card.

So I have had the new card installed for several weeks and it is performing well. I get 60fps in Titanfall with medium high settings. (My CPU is now a bottleneck for some things). This card runs quieter than my old one too.

Overall I would recommend this video card if you are trying to keep your Mac Pro 2009 useful for another couple of years.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Culver City, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Trusted vendor. Quality Product. Breathe some life into my Mac Pro January 21, 2015 While the new black Mac Pros make me drool, OWC had a great article on how to breathe some new life into my older Mac Pro cheese grater towers.

I debated getting a flashed PC version of the card, which manufacturer worked better with Final Cut Pro X, getting another older card to match the one I had already and running both,etc.

At the end of the day, you'll be hard pressed to find the Mac Edition of these cards anywhere else...so, I knew I could buy with confidence. It wasn't always clear with some vendors if it was a flashed PC version or not. I like having the Apple Boot screen and worry, much less. Add in the rebate for my older card from OWC and there wasn't any real cost savings.

A single, more modern card, has sped up my render times (as well as switching to an SSD boot and a PCI-E boot). While the fan is a little noisy at boot up, I quickly forget it's running. No issues with power concerns. And it's breathed some life into my aging machine. Which, was a big chunk of change to begin with.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Jose, CA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Good card January 14, 2015 First one I ordered through OWC came promptly but did not have the proper EFI on the card. For those who do not know, Mac systems (at least with regards to the GPU) need a specific ROM that the GPU has in order for the card to function fully. Such functions include; boot screens, full PCI-E 2.0 support, and improved graphics performance.

This card has a dip-switch that allows the card to be used in either Mac or Windows based systems. Unfortunately, in either position, the first card I ordered did not have the correct EFI ROM and while the GPU did display video to my monitor, I did not have any boot screens and my Mac did not fully recognize the card stating it was the AMD 7XXX instead of the true name, AMD 7950.

Fortunately, a quick email with OWC meant they sent me an advanced replacement and the second card that was sent works flawlessly. So while the Sapphire QC may need to be checked, OWC's customer service is top notch.

As for the card itself, it is a bit louder than the 5770 it replaced but I'm not going to be super picky since there aren't many "Mac-blessed" GPU options out there currently.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Texas Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very pleased January 6, 2015 I installed this on a 2009 mac pro. I wanted to be able to run three monitors, thus the need for the card. I have two Apple 27 inch LED displays on my desktop and then I have a 52 inch big screen wall mounted and fed by an hdmi cable running thru the wall. On a normal day I stream video content to the wall-mounted big screen from the Internet, then I stream feeds from remote DVR's on one of my desktop monitors and the last monitor is my workspace. Even with all that, I feel like I'm under utilizing the cards capabilities because I do no photo or video editing. I have been running the card for two months now and performance has been flawless.

OS Yosemite recognized the card without needing to install the drivers that came with the card. Installation took all of 10 minutes.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Madrid-Spain Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Muy recomendable para ganar velocidad / Very recommendable to gain speed September 4, 2014 Muy fácil de instalar en el Mac Pro 2010. Basta con ver el video tutorial de como cambiar la tarjeta gráfica en el Mac Pro; que esta muy bien explicado. Es muy recomendable tener instalado el OSX Maverick para sacarle el mayor partido a la gráfica. La recomiendo, pues una vez instalada; aumenta casi en el doble el rendimiento de mi Mac Pro; con aplicaciones que requieren mucha potencia gráfica.

Very easy to install in the Mac Pro 2010. It is enough with seeing the tutorial video of how changing to the graphical card in the Mac Pro; that this explained very well. He is very recommendable to have installed the OSX Maverick. I recommend it, because once installed; it almost increases in the double the yield of my Mac Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Good GPU, HDMI Audio Output Issue June 27, 2014 I've purchased this GPU, but had problem with HDMI audio output with OS X 10.9.3. So, I requested for exchange, because I thought it was defective. However, OWC has returned the same card back to me after passed all extensive lab testing.

I am not a gamer. I want this card just because I intend to keep my Mac Pro for long time, catch the last wave of HW upgrading. After I got the card back from OWC. I've re-installed Mavericks, but no luck! So, I did lots of research online, and I found the answer.

For people those who also have the HDMI audio output problem via HDMI or Display Port to HDMI, running Mac OS 10.8 or later, especially after 10.9.2 update. Likely the issue is not on this GPU, even through you had no issues with your old official Apple 5770, 5870 GPU. The problem is Apple, stopped implant the HDMI audio driver (kext extension) for other than official Apple GPUs.

For you to check. Goto " About This Mac" > System Report > PCI Cards. Located the GPU card, if ATY,Hamachi Driver Installed is "NO" means your Mac does not have HDMI audio driver to enable the audio output.

The solution is you need a HDMI audio driver. Google search for "HDMIaudio.kext"

I decided to keep the card after problem solved. It's a good GPU for the price and it ease the CPU load. And OWC service is great.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 A great Mac Pro upgrade June 5, 2014 Love this card! Great openCL and OpenGL performance (including support for OpenGL 4.x), plenty of VRAM, and easily drives 3 monitors without breaking a sweat. It greatly improved performance in the viewport for 3D apps (such as Cinema 4D), and is compatible with the Mercury Playback Engine hardware acceleration in Adobe Premiere Pro/After Effects CC.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: west coast Age: 45-54
Rating: 3/5 great for most apps except After Effects (or Adobe products) May 26, 2014 Drives most of my apps including Mavericks OS very well. Makes my Mac Pro 2009 worth keeping for a couple of more years as one of my workstations.

However, since Adobe seems only interested in working with Nvidia's CUDA architecture, After Effects does not take advantage of this card's GPU.

In summary buy this card if you want an affordable Graphics card. DO NOT purchase this if you need GPU for Adobe Products.

You need to pay the extra mark-up for an Nvidia card.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Great Card! Game On! April 21, 2014 I'm running an early 2009 Mac Pro 2.26 GHz with 32g of ram and 3 Apple Cinema Displays. (Previously had dual ATI Radeon cards)

I do a lot of 3D work and graphics on the Mac side and switch to gaming using windows 7 in bootcamp. I knew this card would be an improvement based on other reviews but I was really amazed at how much of a difference it made. Render times are much faster and I can run graphic heavy games like Skyrim with full ENB super smooth.

Installation was really easy and if your like me running 3 monitors you'll need the Kanex C247DL adapter.

Only down side to the card I found is it gets a bit loud when doing graphic heavy processing.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hong Kong Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 May be the easiest and best graphic card option for Mac Pro March 30, 2014 My Computer is a Mac Pro 2009, 2.66 Quad core, 32G RAM, boot from a Samsung 840 Evo 1T SSD mount on the Sonnet Tempo SSD, with another 7T HD in software RAID 0.

The original 4870 is just good enough to drive the 27' Apple cinema display. Even though it can still play games like SIMS 3 or X-plane, but obviously must run in full speed, that makes the fan become very very noisy.

I order the 7950 via this webpage, use the cheapest DHL option. The card deliver to my home in 3 days, by considering I am living in East Asia, not extremely fast, but totally acceptable.

The user manual says must install the driver before install the card (which contradict to their website info). So, I try to do so. However, when I try to run the CD, it says my OS (10.9.2) is not required to install any driver. So, I shut down the computer and start installing the hardware.

The instruction in the manual is very easy to follow. I remove the old 4870 from slot 1, change the power cable, install the new 7950, and then connect the power cable.

The only thing confuse me a bit is the firmware switch. The point 1 in the manual is talking about the MAC mode, but the number on the switch is actually number 2. The manual says the card's default setting should be in MAC mode, however, it is not. I think point 1 in the manual is explaining the switch 1 position, also, it's says MAC mode is the default mode. So, I didn't change it.

I connect the the monitor via the mini-display port, switch on the computer, with nothing on the screen.

So, I read the manual again, change the firmware switch position to the RHS as the manual said, switch on the computer again. Then everything work like a charm.

The boot screen is lovely, I can choose any boot up partition by holding the option key.

After the upgrade, I can no longer use atMonitor to monitor the VRAM usage. Before the upgrade, Safari can use up to 98% of the 512mb VRAM on 4870. But now, the reading always stay at 0%. I believe it's a software problem, since atMonitor is not working very well after OSX 10.8 for monitoring the graphic cards parameter.

I try the X-plane again, switch every render option to the max, the game can run, but not very smooth. Which is already a huge jump from the 4870, because the 4870 will simply give up by showing a black screen if I turn everything to max. But once I switch the render option to "high" rather then "very high" (but still leave the aircraft texture option to very high), the game run smoothly. For me, I am very happy with this performance. The fan noise is far much lower than the 4870 in high performance, but I can notice that the fan speed keep changing when I use Safari. Not consider noisy at all, just noticeable.

On the system info page about PCI cards, it indicates the followings...

Name: ATY,HamachiParent Type: ATY,HamachiParent Driver Installed: No

I have no idea what this mean, it seems some driver is missing. I can't get any answer from the internet yet, but I've seen some other post on other forum having exactly the same question. Will try to get an official answer from Sapphire. Anyway, this card perform well without any obvious problem.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great for AVCHD on a MacPro3,1 March 8, 2014 The reason I purchased the Sapphire HD 7950 Mac Edition was to allow me to view and edit my native AVCHD video files in full resolution, without the need for transcoding the .mts files. I'd just purchased a Canon XA20 and planned to shoot in AVCHD at 30P and 24Mbps (and 16-bit linear audio.) When I played those files in Adobe Premiere CC on my MacPro3,1 (two quad-core 2.8GHz CPUs), I was only getting about 20 of the 30 frames, resulting in a very choppy playback. Using the stock Radeon HD 2600 XT video card, I'd have to set the playback to 1/2 quality for smooth playback, but much crappier looking video. Transcoding the .mts files would solve the problem, but require much, much more hard drive space, and that would require many more hard drives for my onsite and offsite archives.

After installing the Sapphire 7950, the native AVCHD files can be viewed and edited at full resolution on a 23" Cinema Display, and a 42" Insight LED preview monitor. Mission accomplished! The installation was easy (don't forget to attach the two included power cables, the fittings for which are right on the motherboard) and makes using the machine feel snappier and faster overall. So after adding the Sapphire, more RAM, and an SSD, my six-year-old MacPro has new life and I'm no longer feeling the need for a new MacPro.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bella Vista,ar Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great card! Need to reset display. February 27, 2014 After installing Mac edition 7950 card,my Mac Pro 5,1 would sometimes not wake from sleep. After numerous calls to tech support,which was very nice and patient, We were not able to resolve the problem. After reading numerous forums pertaining to this card,a poster said that disconnecting the display,causing it to reset,solved this problem. After doing this,the card has worked flawlessly. Big upgrade from 5870 card!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Solid performer, snug installation January 27, 2014 Installation was really snug and took some work, but once it was in I knew it was solid. Has worked perfectly ever since installed.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cottonwood Heights, Ut Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 It Helped my Machine a lot January 25, 2014 I have a Mac Pro Mid 2010. The Sapphire helped my screen resolution and is much faster than what I had. I had an updated card on the machine, not the stock card that came with it. Was it worth the money? Yes, it certainly was for my machine. I am using the machine to cut video in FCPX.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Raleigh NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Amazingly powerful & versatile January 25, 2014 Bought this for my mac pro 4,1 running mavericks. I wanted to drive my 3 monitors and also then output hdmi to my HD 3d ready projector in my man cave. So basically driving 4 screens at once, 3 being the monitors and the 4th throwing movies up on the wall via the projector. I bought a pioneer blu ray 3d capable drive also from OWC and some 3rd party software and now I am watching blu rays movies with it. Also when I boot into windows the video card and pioneer blu ray drive work flawlessly and I can run PowerDVD which is 3D capable and I basically have a 3D movie theatre in my house all run by the same Mac Pro (active 3D glasses required). Couldn't have worked out better. I couldn't recommend this product more. It is a work horse that handles everything I throw at it.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Paris, France Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great so far January 25, 2014 Mac Pro's support is fine (EFI's boot screen supported), quite good performance compared to stock 5870, had a crash once, but overall a stable upgrade. Seems less of a boost for gaming compared to nVIDIA's chipsets, but overall OS X support and OpenCL's integration seems better, and native mini display ports are fine for a 27 inch Apple Display. As usual, OWC's support and sales are great!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Music City, USA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 1/5 Very fast, but unstable... May 23, 2013 I bought this to upgrade the original video card in my mid-2010 Mac Pro (MacPro5,1) with a single 2.8Ghz processor and 6Gb of RAM. This card is definitely much faster than the original card. But, it caused problems with several programs that wouldn't run reliably (primarily cheap games bought in the Apple Store), and in most programs, including the Finder, it caused the screen to briefly..."flash" is the best way I can describe it. Very brief, but very noticeable, and definitely distracting since it happened every few minutes. This card was installed in my Mac Pro for less than a month, and has been replaced with an Apple ATI Radeon HD 5870 Graphics Upgrade Kit which is working fine.

Response from MacSales.com, Customer Service July 1, 2013 We did thoroughly test the returned unit in the same machine setup and we could not reproduce any of the above issues. Given the opportunity to troubleshoot, we most certainly would have been able to assist in getting this card to run reliably in your rig. Nevertheless, we're very happy that the Radeon card is working without issue and glad that we could satisfy you via your refund.
Sapphire HD 7950 Mac Edition Mfr P/N: 100352MAC OWC SKU: SAP100352MAC 3GB of GDDR5 memory, two Mini DisplayPort, one HDMI, and one dual-link DVI-I port. Provides macOS 10.14 compatibility for select Mac Pros 2 Year OWC Fulfilled Limited Warranty
Sold Out