Skip to main content
Home » New & Pre-Owned Apple

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more New & Pre-Owned Apple items available.

Our selection of available New & Pre-Owned Macs is constantly changing. We highlight many of the best deals on our Specials Page, or you can view our full inventory of new, refurbished and OWC certified systems.

Apple Mac mini:

8GB Memory | 500GB Solid-State Drive

2.6GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7 Processor

Late 2012

Used, Very Good condition
System Configuration:
  • Memory:
    • 8GB PC12800 1600 MHz DDR3
  • Storage:
    • 500GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G Solid-State Drive
  • Networking:
    • Built-in 802.11a/b/g/n Wi-Fi
    • Built-in 10/100/1000BASE-T Gigabit Ethernet
    • Built-in Bluetooth 4.0
    • 1 x Thunderbolt Port
  • Video:
    • Intel HD Graphics 4000 with 1GB VRAM
  • Pre-Loaded/Licensed Software:
    • Supports up to macOS 10.15.6 Catalina
OWC Tested. Quality You Can Trust.
OWC individually inspects and fully tests every pre-owned computer to confirm full functionality and accurate grading. All refurbishments and/or upgrades are performed by our Apple Certified Technicians. That's why OWC is the most trusted name in Mac refurbishments.
Experience huge savings on Mac mini!
With every Mac mini, there is a lot of computing power packed into a space that's a fraction of the size of normal desktop computers. And when purchased through MacSales.com, you can count on all that computing power at a fraction of the price of buying new. Pick up this 2012 Mac mini and experience dramatic savings!
Powered by a 2.6GHz Intel Core i7 Ivy Bridge Processor (4 Total Cores)
Talk about oomph. This baby has some power and then some. More processor cores equals more tasks and projects you can do at once. And with a Turbo Boost up to 3.6, you will definitely have enough power for years to come without feeling like your processors are holding you back.
8GB of Memory
This Mac mini is champing at the bit to get to work. With 8GB of memory you can multi-task with efficiency and experience less lag time with launching and saving applications. If you need more memory, you can expand to 16.0 GB with this model Mac mini.
500GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD
OWC has elevated the performance and expanded the storage of this machine by adding a 500GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD. OWC's Electra 6G SSD offers higher speed than the original factory SSD and is designed in the USA.
Gigabit Ethernet, Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth Networking
This Mac mini, in addition to the one RJ-45 port that supports 10/100/1000BASE-T networks, also has a Bluetooth 4.0 and 802.11a/b/g/n Wi-Fi card installed. So you're covered for all your wired and wireless connection needs.
Apple Model Numbers: MD388CT/A

Includes

  • Apple Mac mini (Late 2012)
  • Power cord
  • Supports up to macOS 10.15.6 Catalina
Keyboard and mouse not included

Machine Specifications*

Apple Mac mini
(Late 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2 View how to find model ID
Supports macOS 10.8.1 Mountain Lion* through 10.15.6 Catalina. This Mac will come pre-installed with macOS 10.8.1 Mountain Lion or later, and free updates are available from Apple up to the latest supported version.

(*) Oldest supported OS can vary depending on the exact date of manufacture, and may differ from what is shown.

Processor

  • Processor Type
    • 2.6GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7 "Ivy Bridge" processor
  • Turbo Boost
    • Up to 3.6GHz
  • Cache
    • 6MB On-chip Shared L3 Cache
  • Supports Hyper Threading
    • Yes

Memory

  • Memory (RAM)
    • 8GB installed
    • Supports up to 16.0 GB
    • 1600 MHz DDR3 SO-DIMM PC12800 204 Pin memory
    • 2 total memory slots

Internal Storage

  • Bus Type
    • SATA 6.0Gb/s Hard Drive Bus
  • Drive Bay
    • One 2.5-inch Drive Bay
  • Bay 1
    • 500GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G Solid-State Drive

External Connectivity

  • Ports
    • (4) USB 3.2 Gen 1 Type-A ports
    • (1) Thunderbolt port (10Gb/s)
    • (1) FireWire 800 port
    • (1) HDMI Port
    • Audio line in minijack (digital/analog)
    • Audio line out/headphone 3.5mm minijack (digital/analog)
    • 10/100/1000BASE-T Ethernet (RJ-45 connector)
    • (1) SDXC card slot

Power

  • Power Supply
    • 85W Power Supply
  • Line Voltage
    • 100-240V AC
  • Frequency
    • 50Hz to 60Hz, single phase

Network

  • Bluetooth
    • Built-in Bluetooth 4.0
  • Ethernet
    • Built-in 10/100/1000BASE-T Gigabit Ethernet
  • Wi-Fi
    • Built-in 802.11a/b/g/n Wi-Fi

Audio

  • Speakers
    • Built-in speaker
  • Microphone
    • N/A
  • Headset Support
    • Support for Apple Earphones with Mic
  • Note
    • HDMI port supports multichannel audio output

Graphics / Video

  • Graphics Processor
    • Intel HD Graphics 4000 with 1GB shared system memory
  • Details
    • Thunderbolt 2 port with support for up to 2560 by 1600 resolution
    • HDMI port with support for up to 1920 by 1200 resolution
    • Support for extended desktop, video mirroring, and AirPlay Mirroring

Input

  • Keyboard
    • Not included
  • Mouse
    • Not included

Environmental

  • Operating Temperature
    • 50° to 95° F (10° to 35° C)
  • Storage Temperature
    • -40° to 116° F (-40° to 47° C)
  • Relative Humidity
    • 5% to 95% noncondensing
  • Maximum Operating Altitude
    • 10,000 feet
  • Maximum Storage Altitude
    • 15,000 feet
  • Maximum Shipping Altitude
    • 35,000 feet

Physical

  • Color
    • Silver
  • Height
    • 1.40" (3.56cm)
  • Width
    • 7.70" (19.56cm)
  • Depth
    • 7.70" (19.56cm)
  • Weight
    • 2.7lb. (1.2kg)

*While researched thoroughly via independent resources, OWC does not make any claim to accuracy or completeness of these specifications.

Very Good Condition

Used, Very Good:
These units show some use, but not abuse. They may have dings, scuffs, or scratches from prior use. Images shown are examples from actual units, but exact unit condition will vary.

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

90 Day OWC Fulfilled Limited Warranty

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 62 out of 64 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SDMiniFan Location: San Diego Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Replaced a Mini with a dead logic board November 8, 2017 I bought this to replace a 2011 mini that had a dead logic board. Didn't want a new model because still need FW800. Upside, got upgraded to USB 3 and can put 16GB in it (old maxed at 8). Swapped out the included HD for the SSD in the old drive and was good to go.

Cosmetically, it looks as good or better than the machine it's replacing. Would buy again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple Mac mini (2012) 2.5GHz Dual Core i5 - Used, Excellent condition.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Punkhorn Location: Cape Cod, MA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Out of the Box, Into Service and Working Like a Champ July 5, 2017 Bought this to replace an ailing mac mini server. Simple restored from a Time Machine backup and I was up and running. Much more responsive with full compliment of memory. It has been humming along delivering mail and calendar services like a champ.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple Mac mini (2012) 2.5GHz Dual Core i5 - Used, Excellent condition.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BillyJoeDonBob Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Machine June 4, 2017 Just what I wanted, really fast. Arrived looking like new.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple Mac mini (2012) 2.5GHz Dual Core i5 - Used, Excellent condition.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JeGl Location: West Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Love the Mac Mini 2012 (Quad Core) April 18, 2017 Bought the Mac Mini 2012 (quad core) from Mac Sales. It arrived earlier than expected and is everything that was advertised. This is a great machine. MacSales made promises they definitely kept. This machine is fast and very responsive. I installed Mac Sierra and all of my backup data from my MacBook Air. This took less than 2 hours for all. I was soon back up and running, on my new Mac Mini 2012 (quad core) as I continue to be today. I would definitely purchase again from MacSales. This is a company you can trust will send you exactly what you are expecting.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple Mac mini (2012) 2.3GHz Quad Core i7 - Used, Very Good condition.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Cobrajock58
Rating: 5/5 Great product delivered as promised January 29, 2017 Small footprint with big power (memory & processor) is what I found in this unit at a very competitive price. Ordering and response to questions on O/S configuration were handled swiftly. Two week in use without issue.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple Mac mini (2012) 2.5GHz Dual Core i5 - Used, Excellent condition.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Willett Location: Philadelphia, PA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent, worth the cost December 15, 2016 A super upgrade to my Mac Mini 2009. The quad core and SSD enhancement as part of OWC upgrade, make this a very powerful Mac, actually more computing power than a new Mac Mini.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple Mac mini (2012) 2.6GHz Quad Core i7 - Used, Very Good condition.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: StuFL Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This Mac Mini is great! December 15, 2016 I was initially hesitant to purchase a used computer, but OWC's fantastic tech support and 90 day warranty convinced me to. I am quite happy with the decision!

The only thing I dislike about it is that I think OWC should have installed the Bluetooth module shielding kit when they had it apart to install a new hard drive. The Bluetooth module shielding kit upgrade has made a huge difference for me!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple Mac mini (2012) 2.6GHz Quad Core i7 - Used, Very Good condition.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DRXAQX Location: Honolulu, HI Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Even at four years old, a great little Mac that can. December 5, 2016 Needing a compact yet strong computer for my work and home needs, I decided to purchase a late-2012 Mac Mini kitted out with 16GB RAM plus a 240GB SSD + 500 GB hybrid drive all under a grand. I am not disappointed in the least, as it runs my legacy Adobe CS5 Master Suite apps, Reason 9.1, Corel Painter X, and a variety of new and old apps. It amazes me how much Mac OS X, even at this latest version of Sierra, can still handle all these varying aged applications and still run smoothly. Sometimes I do run into an error with legacy apps, but these are easily resolvable and do not impinge on my using them at all. In fact, a lot of these apps were run before on a 2007 MacBook as a testament to the longevity and inclusiveness of Mac OSX's attitude toward older applications. I dig how it even plays well with some years-old hardware as well (the inclusion of four USB 3.0 ports is a true boon). What really stuns me is using the SSD as a boot drive: ridiculously fast startup and load times from the time I press the power button on. Overall a very POSITIVE experience. Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple Mac mini (2012) 2.5GHz Dual Core i5 - Used, Very Good condition.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Stellar condition "used" mini July 30, 2016 If the condition of this mac Mini I purchased from OWC is "very good," I'd love to see what "excellent" looks like. Good grief!!! Not one single scratch or dent on the aluminum case-- Not a one. Works as expected-- Came upgraded with Yosemite (and I was thinking that I'd have to install it myself).

A word of caution: the only problem I had (which has nothing to do with OWC) is my upgraded wireless Magic mouse 2.0 and keyboard were not recognized because they require El Capitan (not the pre-installed Yosemite to function... I had to purchase a wired mouse to perform the setup tasks).

All in all, I'm overjoyed with my upgrade from my 2009 mini to this 2012. My only wish is that I had gotten the 16GB one, but with OWC I can always opt to upgrade it on my own, if I choose to. For now, I'm beyond content with my purchase, and will continue to use them for my Mac needs. Thanks

FYI: I recommended the miniStack max as a great compliment to the minis that don't come standard with the DVD drive. Great for additional storage/back up purposes

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple Mac mini (2012) 2.3GHz Quad Core i7 - Used, Excellent condition.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tulsa, OK Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Used Mac Mini July 2, 2016 Perfect transaction. Good delivery and machine worked out of box.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple Mac mini (2012) 2.3GHz Quad Core i7 - Used, Very Good condition.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hammond, LA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 OWC Used MacMini 2012 Model June 22, 2016 When my old late 2006 Mini no longer got OSX updates after Mountain Lion, I cringed. It's main purpose was to power a Plex Media server & an Itunes Share, headless on the router. Worked like a charm. But recently Plex software updated and ML was no longer supported. Time to do something. I immediately went to OWC's Used Mac page. Looked for a decent one to meet my needs, placed the order and it was here in a few days. Well packaged. Description said Good shape but this one was in Great shape IMHO. One little scratch on top you can't hardly see. I hooked it up, started the Migration wizard and about an hour and a half later it was done. I then upgraded it to El Capitan. It'll also be eligible for Sierra in the fall. I did have my doubts at first, but I knew OWC would take care of me if I had any issues. Good buy for me. I'd recommend taking a look.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple Mac mini (2012) 2.5GHz Dual Core i5 - Used, Very Good condition.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Arizona Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 I LOVE THIS MAC MINI!!! June 11, 2016 I am so please with this product. I was going to buy new but then realized I could get more bang for my buck and customize my MacMini more to my liking by putting it together with OWC parts. And evre thing is so well built. MacMinis are more delicate than other Macs and even though I did manage to get every thing the way I want, I think I would rather have OWC put it together next time. I dont mind working on a large Power G5 but like I said the Minis are more delicate. i have shaking hands form arthritis so it was a little nerve wracking but its humming along!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple Mac mini (2012) 2.5GHz Dual Core i5 - Used, Excellent condition.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: massachusetts Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Used Mac Mini at a decent price. April 26, 2016 I purchased a 2012 Mac Mini to replace a deceased PowerBook Pro. The unit was in excellent shape, as described by OWC and has been performing well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple Mac mini (2012) 2.5GHz Dual Core i5 - Used, Excellent condition.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bay Area, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Everything worked as expected. February 22, 2016 Looks great and works great! Nice getting a used Mac pre-loaded with the latest OSX!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Apple Mac mini (2012) 2.5GHz Dual Core i5 - Used, Very Good condition.

Apple Mac mini 2.6GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7 Processor OWC SKU: UAEE3F64XX2XXXC Used, Very Good condition 90 Day OWC Fulfilled Limited Warranty
Sold Out